Say Whaaaaat?!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
January 12th 2012
Published: January 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow, this week has flown by! Sorry for not posting in a few days but my studio schedule has been very hectic. Since this is an art school, classes are approached at a different angle than in Philly. You have one main studio course but there is no particular time...you just go and work when and for however long you need to and every week or so you meet with your professor for an update or something. I've not really gotten to that point yet seeing as I've only been attending for a week now and our only project has been a group one. So, that is the reason I have been at the studio 9-5 everyday. We meet in the morning and then work together all day. It is a 1 week long sound/video project so we really needed all the time we could get.

I haven't decided how much I like this system or the one back in Philly better. I feel like it could be a little dangerous just letting me choose for myself when to go and do work. Especially because of the fact that I have to literally treck across the centre of Glasgow for 30 minutes just to start my day's work. HOWEVER... I LOVE the fact that studios over here close at 11pm (the ones at PhilaU are open til 2am). The reason why i like this so much is that it forces you to just stop working and go home, unlike PhilaU, which in a way, promotes pulling "allnighters".

My group members are really nice and have been introducing me to many of the other Product Design students in our course and showing me cool places to go. We have been planning, brainstorming, photographing, filming, recording and editing for the past 4 days and our critique is tomorrow (friday) at 11am. Im a bit nervous, everything is finished, I am just unfamiliar with the way they grade/judge your projects over here. Any way, the cafe in our studio building is sooooo good. Cheap and tasty =]

Outside of school stuff, I am getting along very well with my flatmates. We always seem to hangout and talk with each other whenever we can. This ususally is around dinner time when we are all home and trying to make ourselves food. I am quite proud of my cooking, to be honest. It isn't just heated up frozen things, I actually can cook! =] Last night I made a double batch of Tofu Curry and rice so I had enough to bring for lunch today, it was yummmmy! The day before, I made pasta (nothing special) but I spiced up some regular sauce and also added veggie sausage (which are really good here)!!! All in all, I think im adjusting quite well to living in a new place and with new things.

So, lets talk about accents. I'm managing well for only living here for about 8 days...English, fine. Welsh, ok. Various other Europeans, no problem. Scottish, say what!? Yeah that last one is still a bit rough, but I'm determined to make sense of this land. I even started saying things like "chips" rather than fries and "crisps" instead of chips. And "course" instead of major, "half 9" rather than 9:30 "flat" instead of apartment. AND I'm beginning to master how to tell time on a 24hr clock. Yay!

Well I'm off to pack for a weekend in Yorkshire with my class mates! Make sure you check out some of my pictures down below!

Catch ya on the flip
Uncommon SunsetUncommon SunsetUncommon Sunset

taken from our studio space. 3rd floor. Skypark
side =]

a.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



13th January 2012

COME BACK! We need to talk today (Friday) about this and we want to see what you are up to too! Facebook us skype, whatever! We need contact with you!!!!!! Miss you love youuu! Lauren, Calleigh and Kristin

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb