Scotland: Glasgow and Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
May 8th 2011
Published: May 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Scotland last Thursday at 7am with a plague-like cold and cramped legs, thank you Maeve my room-mate and Thomas Cook Airlines. But despite being on my death-bed my first few days in Scotland have been marvelously pleasant. I have seen very old universities, museums, cathedrals, castles, even the oldest house in Glasgow (don't ask me exactly HOW old it was - but it looked very old indeed)

Even better than all the old stuff was the food! The Scots have found the secret to life - a combination of batter and boiling oil. Not just fish but pizza and mars bars too. I am very much looking forward to what crunchy, artery clogging delight I will discover next.

Edinburgh on Saturday was great fun - only 45 minutes on the train and full of more old stuff. The entire royal mile is world heritage listed and the buildings have been there since.....an exceptionally long time ago. After seeing the castle and cathedral we got straight down to the important things - kissing a bagpipe player who wasn't over 60, eating in the cafe where J.K.Rowling wrote Harry Potter and of course chasing a gay pride parade
Statue with birdStatue with birdStatue with bird

there were birds on the heads of all the statues - except the one with the cone of course
down the royal mile until we caught up and joined in (I even met some Scottish Conservatives! A phenomenon I was starting to think didn't exist)

Having done so much free stuff we decided we should be proper tourists and fork out 10 quid to see nothing more than a deep dark pit as Aileen put it. Mary Kings Close - a group of 3 or 5 closes that were built over making a very claustrophobic underground tour. It was actually rather exciting but then I am easily amused.

I will write again when I get back from my road trip up to Loch Ness which begins in exactly 2 hours 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Blue Police BoxBlue Police Box
Blue Police Box

Very Doctor Who
The first Scottish Conservative I metThe first Scottish Conservative I met
The first Scottish Conservative I met

You can see how excited I am ;)


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb