The beginning of Europe - Dublin and Glasgow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
August 27th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!!

So today's my third day in Europe. Left home on Monday and traveled first class from ATL-DUB thanks to my buddy pass. It was quite nice - great food and comfy reclining seat.

Arrived in Dublin Tues morning and walked around all day - went to the Candy Shop for lunch (didn't have candy, don't worry), walked along the River Liffey, went to the Cathedral, another church, a Catholic Church, Guinness Storehouse (too pricey for my liking so I didn't take a tour), Temple Bar area (super cute!). I met my couchsurfer by the spire in the evening and went to her apt. She and her flatmate are from Brazil and they're both so nice and a lot of fun. One of them made a delicious Brazilian dessert that tastes kind of like fudge.

Woke up at 4:45am!!! to get to the airport for my flight to Glasgow. A combination of exhaustion, hunger, getting lost and not being able to find tourist information or having the luck to find someone who could actually answer my questions, phone not working = I got a little frustrated. After a delicious and cheap chicken pesto sandwich and a very lovely call from a *certain special someone*, I was ready to tour the city. I really liked the old part of Glasgow (Cathedral, cemetery that I forgot the name of, Religious Life and Art Museum, People's Palace at Glasgow Green). Met my couchsurfer around 6 and we went out for a Scottish dinner. I had smoked haddock and salmon pie (basically fish with peas and some sauce and mashed potatoes on top) - it was tasty but kind of made my stomach feel funny. Then, Elaine (my CS), drove me around to see the city center at night, University of Glasgow (makes the US historic universities look pitiful in comparison), the river Clyde. I slept on a yoga mat on a very hard floor so again didn't get a great night's rest but was finally at least laying down for more than 4-5 hours.

Bud ride to Edinburgh this morning was gorgeous! Bright green rolling hills, dark green trees, some red rock formations... and Edinburgh is beautiful. I think it's my fav place so far. That's all for now 😊

Advertisement



27th August 2009

Enjoy United Kingdom
Hi Monica, It was wonderful hearing your voice earlier today. So glad to see your blog posting. Your couchsurfer host so far sound very nice - it makes me feel much better about it. Sounds like you're seeing some amazing places. I'm impressed you tried the smoked haddock & salmon pie. I remember not liking a meat pie I had once in England. I know you're not a big beer fan (& I'm not either), but if you get a chance, try a lime 'n lager while in Great Britain...I thought it tasted pretty good. Say "hi" to Jason and Emily for me this weekend. I know you are going to have an incredible journey - even though somtimes it might get frustrating finding things, enjoy the whole journey and be proud of yourself...you are so adventurous and capable. If you start getting exhausted from sleeping on too many floors, splurge once in awhile and find a bed & breakfast to pamper yourself! (I'll treat!) Thanks for keeping us updated daily! Looking forward to more blog entries about your exciting travels! Love, Mom
27th August 2009

Great to hear from you!
Monica, We very much look forward to your informative updates! We know you will enjoy this adventure. And regarding the "certain special someone"...how nice of you to refer to your father so affectionately! You take care... Hugs, Marcy
27th August 2009

jealous!
I'm so jealous of you! Hope that you have a great time!
27th August 2009

happy to hear
Arrived home from 3 days away and was so delighted to get your blog....not enough time in dear old Ireland! Happy you are on your way, finding couches and seeing the world. Take care! We are Monica fans.
1st September 2009

who???
Monicaaaaaaa....... who's that special someone???? That's all for Edinburgh??? It's not fair, come on! It's a gorgeous place with beautiful people and lots of etc's.

Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb