Home Safe and Sound!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » St Louis
August 5th 2008
Published: August 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

Trafalgar Square. Not that I’ve traveled excessively and can fairly make this choice, but I think London has to be one of my favorite cities.
I arrived home last Thursday after many days of traveling (a fun stop in London and lots of boredom in airplanes and airports). It's been great to be home and catch up with some family and friends! I do miss the adorable African kids, but I think after being sick and everything the last couple weeks, it was really nice to get home. I hope to go back one day though to visit the kids and see other African countries.

Thank you for traveling with me and reading my blogs. You have no idea how much I enjoyed your responses and messages - really, it got me through the day sometimes and made me smile. I hope you enjoyed the stories 😊

Also, thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who donated money and/or supplies and helped make this trip happen for me! I couldn't have done it without you! The kids in Uganda who received all the donations were ecstatic. Those kids are grateful for anything and everything - really just your presence and friendship means a lot. But they were so thankful for the books, games, school fees, bicycles, etc. Your kind donations meant the world
MILK!MILK!MILK!

Oh how I missed milk and cereal. Got these at Starbucks and a supermarket near the hotel in London. So incredibly tasty!
to them (and me!).

FYI in case you ever go to Africa: you will NOT come back skinny and black (tan). UNLESS, you get very sick and /or can stand the awful heat (Western Africa) when there are no clouds.
You will however meet some of the kindest, hard-working, and welcoming people.

(Note: trying to find a date that will work for a Post-Africa Party in order to see you all and share some more stories and pictures. Stay tuned.)

Advertisement



7th August 2008

So glad you're home
Your blog has helped me tremendously in preparation for my trip to Uganda this coming Monday. Thank you! I'm just glad you got home safe and sound and I hope we can get together to share some experiences after I'm back.
8th August 2008

Welcome Home!
Welcome home Monica. An experience of a lifetime. You will definately appreciate all of the simple things in life now that we all take for granted! Can't wait to hear stories and visit with you at the family reunion.
14th August 2008

Me too!
London is definitely one of my favorite cities...i had four days there but i need to go back...it wasnt enough time!!!!
30th July 2009

1 year later
what about telling u that i love you? that i miss you? that i'm glad you made it back home safe? i know this was exactly one year ago...and you know i really do remember it... so now, 1 year later i'll tell you: I LOVE YOU MONICA LYNN!!! un besote grandote mi cielo!

Tot: 0.366s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb