The Highlands


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
June 29th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

While Judy visited the cousins I visited the Highlands.
I caught the train to Inverness where I visited the loch, predictably, and didn't see Nessie, also predictably.
But it was pretty all the same.
Then I headed west to Plockton, a beautiful town near Skye, where I invited myself to stay with the Macrae's, friends of family friends.
I helped out in their guesthouse and ate at their restaurant. I recovered from a nasty head cold and went for a walk in the hills behind their house in Achmore. I even got to watch a Shinty match and get eaten alive by midges.
I visited Skye, very briefly, and left the highlands feeling like I'd barely begun.
It is firmly on my revisit list.
Before I left Scotland I visited the Findhorn Foundation on the Moray Firth on Alan's recommendation. (thanks alan)
I gave a day in the vege gardens and a day in the kitchen. Mum tells me she used to cook from a vegetarian cookbook from Findhorn when we were kids. No wonder the kitchen felt so familiar.
It was interesting to see such a long established community running.
I had time to admire the original architecture people have employed and visited the coast, which was beautiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Neil and ArchieNeil and Archie
Neil and Archie

Neil (Half Day Macrae, named thus because of his relaxed attitude toward gainful employment) and his 4 year old son on their fishing boat.


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb