Visiting the Professor


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
June 29th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Before meeting up with Judy again, I headed down to Canterbury to stay with one of Alan's bestest friends.
I was very nervous about it, thinking;
What if we don't get on?
What if he doesn't approve of me?
I needn't have worried. Matthew turned out to be one of those rare people who I immediately feel comfortable with.
We spent three days in good company, good food, wine around the fire at night, and good conversation that just kept flowing.
I also got to hear him play his famous saz - beautiful.
He lives on a Pinetum in the woods near the University of Kent.
On Saturday we put in a solid day of work clearing brambles and coppicing chestnut trees.
On Sunday we went for a walk around the area, then I hung around the Pinetum soaking up the peace before having the most beautiful bath of my life down by the stream at the bottom of the woods.
I had such a nice time I didn't even make it to the cathedral.
Thank you, Alan, for sending me that way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Alby the gooseAlby the goose
Alby the goose

Diligently patroling the Pinetum and defending his lady love who was sitting on her eggs.


2nd July 2009

View from the bath, with feet... is a masterpiece :-)

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb