sabbatical 2019 - Edinborough 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
July 22nd 2019
Published: July 28th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Once again we are pilgrims on a journey. Arrived in Edinborough to our B and B at noon. Took a brief nap and then wandered (ended up being 6 miles), and including landing at the doorstep of the house where Becky lived for 3 months at the age of 10. Her dad was on sabbatical from being a Presbyterian minister and he took the family to Edinborough where he took courses at the University of Edinborough and went to Greyfriar's Kirk. We walked the walk she made several blocks to her school and then the beautiful walk through the Meadows, a huge expanse of green space, right out her front door, and in the middle of the city. What a delight to hear her memories of time here.

We started our walk today with Psalm 121, St. James' sabbatical psalm. "I lifft up my eyes to the hills - from where does my help come. My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth... The Lord watches over you.... The Lord will keep you from all harm." It is also the psalm I told my mom we would recite each day in memory of my father, who died last Saturday morning. Becky and I are symbolically keeping him along side us on this pilgrimage through Scotland and England, which will end in Canterbury, where he had close ties to the Cathedral there.

The death of my dad is a profound ending of 94 years of life richly lived. It is also poignant for me to realize that only 2 weeks ago he heard that another grandchild is on the way, from son, Ben and Rachael. Thus the cycle of life continues. My mom is sad but also relieved from having spent the past few years caring for him in an almost full time way. And I am extraordinarily blessed that my 2 sisters will be spending time with my mom in these upcoming days.

(pictures of Becky at her Scotland home will hopefully come tomorrow. Alas the internet is very sketchy for downloading things) But isn't it amazing you can follow any of this!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb