Weather Two, Photographers Nil


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands » Rannoch Moor
January 16th 2020
Published: January 19th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Kilchurn CastleKilchurn CastleKilchurn Castle

A bleak morning beside Loch Awe.
It was another early start, but again a non sunrise. This time we were heading south of Rannoch Moor to Kilchurn Castle, on the shore of Loch Awe.

We all got soaking wet, as did our cameras, however there was a short gap in the rain for some half decent photographs. For a few short minutes, the wind even died down enough for the castle to be reflected in the lake.

It was back to The Green Welly Stop again for breakfast. I had a look around the gift shop, including the whiskeys, which it would be rude to not at least consider buying whilst up here. Apparently, price wise, we are better off getting it from our local supermarket in England. I don’t think my local Sainsbury’s has the whiskeys costing £6,950 a bottle though.

We had an unplanned stop at a dilapidated old church, which was quite photogenic and presented more photo opportunities than the cloud covered, grey and rainy moors and lochs, although it wasn’t something I would have normally considered taking pictures of.

We carried on and went to Castle Stalker, which is on a little island just off the shore of Loch
Castle StalkerCastle StalkerCastle Stalker

Braving the excessive winds.
Linnhe. The wind here was ferocious and it was a running battle to keep our tripods still enough to get any photos. I had a filter blown out of my hand (only minor damage) and someone else had his tripod blown over completely. Luckily it was just a filter that got smashed, rather than his lens or camera. Note to self, always have a filter on the lens.

Shopping list for when I get home: waterproof cover for the camera, lens hood to stop water droplets getting on the lens, more lens wipes and a heavier tripod. Also, most of the others have spare cameras, but I don’t think I will get that business case past my wife.

We got back to the hotel early again.

I’m getting seriously used to the smoked salmon up here and, given the quantities that are served here, I don’t think the price of that is better in England.

I spent most of the evening trying to dry-out my camera bag and most of its contents.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Smoked SalmonSmoked Salmon
Smoked Salmon

I am getting seriously used to this.
Scotch WhiskyScotch Whisky
Scotch Whisky

A bargain at under £7,000 a bottle.
Dalmally ChurchDalmally Church
Dalmally Church

A run-down church that was worth a few photos.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb