Loch Ness to Oban


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands » Lochcarron
July 26th 2013
Published: July 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After breakfast we got on the coach and headed to Loch Ness. We went on a cruise of the lake. It was a slow moving, large boat. This was perfect for me due to the fact I'm not the biggest fan of boats and the potential to drown to my death. The loch is beautiful in the morning with a slight mist around it. The boat played an audio tour as we sailed around. I had a tea on board and just took in the scenery. Afterwards, we got back on the bus for a long two and a half drive to our next stop. The ride provided some of the best views of the Scottish Highlands. The mountains are big with so many evergreen trees. I even saw a castle nestled in the mountains as we drove by. We stopped at the stream of eternal youth and beauty. Legend has it that if you dip your face in, you will age beautifully. So Laura and I headed down the gentle slope to pat our faces in the water, taking time to especially pat our eyes and I patted my forehead to prevent crow's feet Next we arrived at Portree, a little port town. This is where I finally got authentic fish and chips! It was delicious and all wrapped in paper! We walked about the town and bought a tartan, or plaid, cap and scarf for Highland dancing tonight. And of course I found the local pub to have a pint. They didn't have my new Scottish favorite, but the pint was just as good. I feel like my Daddy, I haven't met a beer I didn't like. Our next stop is the Eileen Donan castle. It was reconstructed in the 1930s from plans of the original castle that stood long ago. It was reconstructed by the MacRae family. I've realized there is tartan everywhere in Scotland. The MacRae family tartan was everywhere! Then, back on the bus! We made one quick stop before reaching the hotel in Oban at a British WWII Memorial, which overlooks Britain's highest mountain. The monument was a beautiful tribute to those who gave the ultimate sacrifice. There were poppy wreaths laid at the foot of the monument too. Made it to Oban and it is a beautiful port town. Laura and I had some pizzas and some wine and then it was off to do some highland dancing. We were led to the club by a piper and a double rainbow. It was beautiful! Oban is a wonderful city!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb