Edinburgh to Loch Ness


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands » Lochcarron
July 24th 2013
Published: July 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It was a bright and early start today. We had to be out of the hotel with our suitcases on the tour bus by 8:15 a.m. and we had to have breakfast before we got on. With another British breakfast buffet to fill our bellies we were off to St. Andrew's! Traveling through the Scottish countryside is breathtaking. There is so much lavender growing across the fields, it is so beautiful.



Once we got to St. Andrew's, we reenacted the "Chariots of Fire" running scene across the beach...the pictures were so funny. Then, we walked around the grounds. I am not that into golf, but the fact it is the birthplace of golf and is so old intrigued me. Again, the landscape was very beautiful. After purchasing a scorecard and a caffe latte, it was back on the bus to Pitlochery.



Pitlochery was another picturesque town. We are definitely headed to the highlands, because the area is a bit more rural. However, the center of town is bustling. Right away I spot McKay's tavern and in honor of Dylan McKay from 90210, we had to eat lunch there. I had a burger, chips (fries), and shockingly enough a pint of Belhaven Best! After lunch, we went to the Blair Athol scotch whiskey distillery for a tour. It was interesting to learn how scotch whiskey is made and how it is different from other whiskeys. The tour guide definitely snubbed his nose at my beloved Jameson. I purchased some souvenirs for Daddy, because he enjoys scotch. After our visit, it was back on the bus to our hotel for the night, which is located on Loch Ness. (btw, there is a guy on the tour who naps on the bus between stops. He snores soooo loud and it is slowly driving me mad!)



We made it to the hotel around 5...and I have a serious case of time warp. It is 1986 and I'm in the Catskills. There is no elevator, a TV made before 1986, a legit key instead of a card key, and I tell myself I'm fine. The sheets are clean and it's only for one night. The surroundings are so beautiful... I've never seen forests like this, so tall and dense.



Next, we walked to Loch Ness. Many people were jumping in the Loch. I was extremely nervous because the tour guide said the lake was very cold, around 40 degrees. Yikes! Somehow I got the nerve and jumped in...it wasn't as bad as I thought. I swam to the latter and got out! The air was so warm compared to the water, I didn't even run for my towel and clothes. Then, we walked back to hotel from 1986 to have dinner. Then it's off to bed for tomorrow's adventures!

Advertisement



2nd August 2013
image

SO JEALOUS
Dear Amanda, Hope you are having the time of your life. ENJOY EVERY MINUTE!!!!! Love, Aunt Carol
4th August 2013
image

Thanks
Thanks Aunt Carol! This has been such an amazing journey and feel so connected to our Irish roots! Can't wait to talk about it all with you! Love ya!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb