At last...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
August 23rd 2006
Published: October 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Buchanan StBuchanan StBuchanan St

pedestrian strip mall
So here I am in the home of Belle & Sebastian, one of my all time favourite bands, who I'm sure most of my friends have never even heard of. Nice. To clarify, I'm in Glasgow, which I'm told is friendlier than Edinburgh, even if you can't even begin to decipher the Glaswegian accent.

My first day there, I spent all morning trying to get myself to Kelvingrove Gardens over in the student district of town. There was no real reason for my trip out there except that I had once seen some really awesome photos of it, but evidently they were photos taken by a really good photographer with some exceptional photoshop skills because the park really wasn't that exciting once I finally got there. Nevermind, better luck next time.

My second day in Glasgow found me at the 'bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond', which really probably wasn't worth such adulations afterall. It was pleasant I suppose, but not worth the one and a half hour bus drive to get out there. That evening I headed out to the Mitchell Library for my obligitory email home (actually I haven't been very good about emailing home very often, sorry about that) and as I was walking out, a Columbian guy started talking to me out of the blue and ended up inviting me around to his place for some traditional scottish shortbread and special columbian hot chocolate. Admittedly it was a bit of a risk going back to some strangers house, but he seemed legit enough and luckily turned out to be so. So I guess I got to experience the friendliness of the Glawegians afterall. Even if my particular Glaswegian happened to be from Columbia instead..


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 56; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb