Canterbury Tales...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
September 22nd 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Whisps of musky air spin candlelight across ancient walls, as dimly lit corners play host to pilgrims in reflection and prayer. I lit my own candle, placing it into a wrought iron stand thats been warmed by countless candles from centuries gone. Paintings surrounding me tell tales of history and miracles. A simple prayer of safety for my friends and family seemed to be multiplied in its deliverence while kneeling in such a place. The hallowed ground of The Crypt in Canterbury Cathedral is reveared as one of the most Holy places on earth. People from all religions, races, and social class have come to this place of worship since the 12th century. No cameras are allowed in The Crypt, it is a place you must physically visit, giving you a deep memory to keep inside after departing its powerful presence.

Even though I haven't blogged in awhile I wrote the description of Canterbury Cathedral right after I got back. It was one of the better experiences so far in the UK.



Well I've added some pictures from my week in England. Everything was quite amazing there as you can see. The Scotland blog is coming soon.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The English ChannelThe English Channel
The English Channel

Me swimming in The English channel!!!
Game DayGame Day
Game Day

Game Day against Kansas City. I am standing next to a 12th century Italian carved marble statue of a tiger inside Leeds Castle!!!
LotusLotus
Lotus

I got a ride in this Lotus going over 120mph on the wrong side of the rode...


28th September 2006

WOW
Can't wait to hear more. Beautifully written. I know now I have to go back to the Cathedral with a new perspective. I was so rushed the first time and failed to share to timeless tradition of lighting a candle. Love, Mom
28th September 2006

I knew it!!!
I knew it. All this time over there and you're neglecting your responsibilities as a Bengals fan! You should be a shamed of yourself!
29th September 2006

Miss you. I know you're having a blast though! Youre making me want to come over even more...

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb