Flat life...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
September 28th 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Everybody was Kung Fu Fighting...Everybody was Kung Fu Fighting...Everybody was Kung Fu Fighting...

they were fast as lightning...
I'm now comfortably settled into my flat!! I have a guy from China, 2 guys from Scotland, a girl from Spain, a girl from Botswana, and a girl from The Phillipines. We all seem to click pretty well together, so life should be good. The Spanish girl Christina, and the Chinese guy Jet are very good cooks... we have all made a few things to share with eachother. I made Gold Star chilli dip... which everyone LOVED of course. Christina made some Sangria, which was OUTSTANDING.. and with the help of some other Spanish girls, Potato Omellettes, which were equal in quality!! I will have to get the recipe for that. Jet made some Shanghai Fried Rice... AMAZING stuff!! The difference in ethnic foods in our flat is pretty funny. Rice, pasta, olive oil, sunflower oil, spanish ham... I get to try it all. I also had some coffee from Germany and homemade scones with the German girls, and Italian coffee with Marco the self proclaimed "F***ing Italian". I ended up in what has turned out to be the party flat. People congregate at our flat which has been dubed "Babylon" by the Canadian, Scott. After hanginig out here everyone wants to go out dancing ..like every night... good thing that I've packed my superb Kentucky bag of dance moves!!! (Everyone that has seen me dance, SHHHHHHHHHHH)

The beer that everyone drinks here is left out in cupboards or on top of the fridge... they drink it warm from the can!! I am still getting used to popping open a nice warm can of Tennants Scottish Ale. That is the beer of choice in Babylon!! Jet taught us some Kung Fu moves while out at the club the other night. By the way, the club on campus has about 400-500 people a night in it... yes, I said on campus club. Its nuts!! OOHHH... the music played in the clubs here is mostly garbage .... stuff that was played in America like 10 years ago.. or more. Its crazy hearing people start screaming when Oasis comes on. My personal favorite may have been the disco remix of American Pie from CCR. The Canadian girls and myself just sigh and laugh. I am not jokeing about this either, its serious stuff!!! Come and see for yourself!!!

The Arron Islands was a fun trip from the weekend. It is a small
Its a party!!!Its a party!!!Its a party!!!

I hear someone cleaning up the mess from that party right now, I'll keep working on my blog for a bit...
island off the coast of Scotland. About 30 or more people from neighboring flats went, which was great. We got to tour Brodick Castle, and then went to the brewery to get a few bottled beers and walk along the beach.

Last night we had a surprise birthday party for Nicola from Slovenia. The Sangria was flowing!! Afterwards we went to The Arches, which is reportedly one of the best nightclubs in the world. I confirm, The Arches is AWESOME!!! It is a club in old red brick train tunnels (arches). It had a swimming pool, a hot tub, lazer tag, giant twister, a big thing to jump around in, and a small church with an Elvis fake marrying people with gummy rings!! I married two German girls, but I couldn't stay commited, so I left them for a Philipina!!!

I finally have my timetable for classes. 6 hours on Monday and 3 hours on Tuesday!!! I need to get a job now!!! I would be job hunting right now, but I have been slacking on the blogs.... so its your fault!!!! OK, now I will be able to sleep better with that rationalization!!!! As you can see, its hard for me to have fun here....


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

CHEERS!!!!!CHEERS!!!!!
CHEERS!!!!!

This is outside the brewery
The Irish LassieThe Irish Lassie
The Irish Lassie

She is holding my Carson Palmer jersey hostage ....
Cooking in the flatCooking in the flat
Cooking in the flat

Spanish girls making Potato Omelette


28th September 2006

I knew it!!!
Dude, I knew it, you're coming home with a wife!!!!! She maybe mail order, but you went for pickup instead of delivery!!!!! lol I hope that girl doesn't put a jinx on Carson Palmer by wearing that jersey! If he gets hurt, I blame you!!!!! lol Keep having a blast, and bring me back a souvenir! lol
29th September 2006

Raison d'etre
As your @guardian' in UK I must say that I'm particularly disappointed at your obvious lack of the real reason for your journey to these shores! Elliott, when are you going to knuckle down to the task in hand?? There's a lot of work to be done... do you understand?? What I'm talking about is the complete lack of any mention of WETHERSPOONS or any of the other fine breweries and ales of Scotland. Now, please don't let me down any more. I do not want to have to tell your mum that you'll be returning home UNEDUCATED......comprisco?? John and Sharman
30th September 2006

YOU SUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 words.......or maybe 3.....YOU FUCKIN' SUCK!!!!!!!!! We miss you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Don't be coming home with no wife now....no one can replace good down home Kentucky girls!!!Great to hear that you are having the time of your life, but well for what its worth...we still get to see the Bengals LIVE in action so HA!! (I know that does not compare..but hey we're just trying to make ourselves feel better for being stuck in the good old NKY) We love you and miss you lots!!! Beth and Steph!!
2nd October 2006

Hello
Hi Elliott, Your travel blog is great, I am soooo jealous. You look like you are having a great time. But what I really want to know is how the hell you have a gold star Bengals glass and I don't... SOLD OUT!!!
8th October 2006

Hands full
Well Elliot, I see you have your hands full (at least they seem to be in every picture I see with you in it) over there. Don't over tax yourself, I would hate to hear that you had so much fun that you wore yourself out. You got your Dad to contend with in a few weeks and he is really looking forward to it. Take care and see ya when you return.
25th October 2006

irish lassie
hello guys, its the 'irish lassie' here, the carson palmer jersey is safely in my room, never to be touched by Mr America again. its in good hands...makes a real comfie nightie, so cheers to carson palmer for my new nightie! GO BENGALS the new nightwear for the sporty lady lol i had his glass too but he cried about it so i gave it back,poor baby
8th February 2007

Hi,I am Susan(Qiongzhen) Wang.Your blogs are great.Thanks ! God bless you!

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb