The journey is half the fun....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
September 6th 2006
Published: September 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To John and Sharmans

Here is a rough map of my travels so far

A glass of champagne, one miller light, four glasses of wine, and a vodka tonic later I landed in London. It was hot, and I was wandering around with 679543068957 lbs (a small exageration) of luggage. This meant only one thing... I better find a pub, and quick. I don't remember the name of that pub, but its where I had my first time with a real guiness, and I was ready for it!! 9am here drinking a guiness ... I was still on Kentucky time, it was like an after hours drink.



After the seduction of the guiness I sped off with my 679530907257 lbs of luggage to get my ticket to the London Victoria Station. It was only a 30 minute ride on a very nice, clean train. I wasn't quite satisfied with just the one Guiness, so after arriving at the next station I stopped in another pub for a second pint. I needed to relax a bit before trying to make my way
Victoria StationVictoria StationVictoria Station

A view of the inside of Victoria Station. You can see the Iron Duke to the right.
through the station to get my next rail ticket to Bearsted. Victoria Station was huge, as well as pretty amazing with the many colorful shops and pubs cluttered about .

It took a little while of holding up the line at the self service ticket kiosk, but luckily a few nice people helped me acquire my rail pass. I had 35 minutes to kill before my train was to arrive.... so off to the Iron Duke I went!! The third guiness was just as good as its predecessors!!! Who needs breakfast in England when you can have a nice Guiness?? After my third pint I went and waited by the entrance to my train as I listened to the stories the ticket attendent told me of coming into work early in the morning and finding half naked, drunk chicks layin around the station that missed their train the night before after partying!!!! (Note to self: Go back to Victoria Station when it opens early in the morning with a camera and buy half naked, drunk girls more liqour)

The train to Bearsted lasted just over an hour. It was a tough ride because I didn't want to fall
TiredTiredTired

Me on a train.. TIRED
asleep and miss my stop. I made it though!!! I unloaded the 67953456957 lbs of luggage off the train, and then nearly $h^t myself as I saw the stairs I had to climb with all of it. It was an old footbridge that went over the train tracks. I might as well have been climbing the Eifle Tower. I had no other choice than to just charge the bastards, and plow straight up them!!! The power of Guiness!! Anyway, as I worked my way down the steps on the other side, a chinese guy and his daughter (yes it took two of them to carry 1 bag) took half of my heavy load for me...carrying one of the bags down the steps and through the small station to the curb in the parking lot. Everyone seems to be nice and helpful here.

From the old station at Bearsted I got a cab to John and Sharmans where I'm at now. Sharman messaged me telling me where she had left me a key so I was able to let myself in. I took all the luggage in, and was able to get a shower... what a relief!!! It took me
A doorA doorA door

Thank GOD ... sanctuary at last
about 18 hours to get here from the time I left my house on Tuesday.

After a short rest John and Sharman got home from work and we got to chit chat a bit... then, it was off to The George!! It is a beautiful old pub, and boasts handmade tiles on the roof from the 17th century. By far the oldest bar i've ever been to. There I was introduced to the locals, and had a few pints of the local Kentish Ale. I had the Spitfire, and the MasterBrew. I love the beer here, and the people seem to be quite amazing so far!!! If Scotland is half this nice, I'll be happy!!

~EL


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

GardenGarden
Garden

John and Sharmans garden
MaidstoneMaidstone
Maidstone

Some shops in Maidstone this morning
Maidstone 2Maidstone 2
Maidstone 2

More shops in Maidstone
Maidstone 3Maidstone 3
Maidstone 3

Shopping


7th September 2006

Lucky Bastard!!!!
Hey, nice to see that everything is going great! Nice picture of the half full pint of guiness! lol Everything else is nice too. lol You should've taken pictures of the first class accomodations on your flight over! dang! Nice to see you are having a good time. Don't have too much fun without me! Don't want ya' to stay there! C-ya pat
8th September 2006

YOU MADE IT!!!!!
So I felt really sorry for your dad when you left on Tuesday....he came into the pine while i was bartending, looking sad, saying.."well, he's gone", then after a few bourbon and cokes(no coke), he was all smiles ear to ear talking about how proud he was of you, and that you are going to have the time of your life.....well....im glad to hear that it sounds like it!! YIPPEE on seeing the world and taking advantage of your youth! Take LOTS more phots and keep up with the blog..I got so excited to see that you had posted....very jealous im stuck in KY, have fun!!!!!!!and MIND THE GAP!!!
8th September 2006

I'm jealous...
I am so glad you made it safe! You really need to quit your bitchin about how heavy your luggage is. YOU ARE IN ENGLAND, YOU CAN SUCK IT UP! Haha jk. Without me though you would have had a lot more luggage to carry around. Anyway hope you are having a great time, which I know you are, Drink a Guinness for me =). ~ Jo P.S. you better send me a postcard... hahaha
8th September 2006

Miss you
El..I am so envious...have a great time...you are an amazing writer!!!How cool is this I am so looking forward to your next entry!!!Wouldn't you know that is exactly how much my luggage weighed when I was in Europe with the girls..thank God for Sara Keller she carried mine for me!!Watch out for doors on the trains..we saw a man get his head caught in one!!!Have fun love and miss you already..Kathy
17th September 2006

Great Time
Hey, looks like you are having a great time and everything I hear from your Dad confirms it. I hope you continue to have a great time and that school is everything you thought it would be. Take care and have fun, if doing the two at the same time is possible.
23rd October 2006

made it, will you make it back?
Hi Elliot, just read your blog and i love to see that you enjoy yourself, talked to your mom and got the blog adress and i love reading blogs where ppl are ejoying themselves and having fun. You know Norway isnt that far away now and being in europe and not going there is a sin(hahahaha) Blonde scadinavian women and all. Hope you ejoy your stay and will not ask about your studies, but i know bars can be a good subject for a new english essay. Enjoy your stay and have the most fun you can. G

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb