The Love of Football


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
August 6th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Noone can ever, ever accuse the Scottish of not being passionate about their sport! Wandering down to the local pub, Heather took me to a raging party of Scots barracking for the Celtic football club to beat the Hearts. Soccer has never been my favourite sport, but when you are surrounded by a bunch of blokes that are THAT excited to see their club play, you can't help but get into the game.

Using some language that would make Billy Connelly blush, these guys cheered and hurled abuse at the tv screen as if their team could really hear them 100 miles away in Edinburgh. Unfortunately Celtic went down in that game, but next time I am in Scotland, I will definately organise to see a soccer match live just to feel the passion of the fans.

Rounding out my all too quick visit to Scotland, I caught the train back to Edinburgh, and made my sad way back to the airport, taking in the atmosphere of the festival as I left.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb