Leopard Sharks & DVDs


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
August 12th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Scuba diving in Thailand never fails to impress. The variety of sea-life and the spectaular underwater scenery are just amazing. I have been on 10 dives since I arrived 4 days ago, and they have all been stunning. The visibility isn't as great as the last time I was here, but it is still better than a day in the office! Over the past few days I have petted Leopard Sharks, seen stingrays, more fish than there are stars in the sky, and even swam with turtles today.

I had a little delay in getting to Thailand, the plane from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur was slightly delayed, meaning that I missed my connecting flight to Phuket. No big deal, a night in Kuala Lumpur and some local delicasies and I made the flight the next day.

I have been very busy here, getting some new suits and shirts tailor made, buying lots of cheap DVDs (I will lend them out to everyone when I get back!) and doing lots of diving. Phuket is still just as I remember, hot, humid, and with lots of aggressive sales people trying to get you to buy suits, tuk tuks and massages.

While the seafood here is cheap and delicious, I think it was the cause of a mystery 24-hour stomach "unhappiness" a few days ago! Since thne I have heard lots of rumours about the quality of the seafood and how many people get sick from it. Eating the seafood in the larger and more posh restaurants seems ok, but the smaller restuarants sometimes spell trouble. Another guy on our dive boat had the same mystery problem after eating seafood at a smaller restaurant as well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb