Monday morning on the 3rd June


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
June 3rd 2013
Published: June 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Me on 'The Swan'Me on 'The Swan'Me on 'The Swan'

"She once was an ugly duckling..."
Getting close now! Bags are finally packed; I've got far too much stuff jammed into them!

You can bet that I won't need half of it, but it's a bit difficult to know what to take with me. The range of temperatures we will encounter over the eight weeks range from around 32F in June at the top of the mountains to probably at least 90F by the time we hit the Mid Ohio racecourse in July! The wind chill needs to be factored in when deciding what needs to be worn on the cold rides.

My riding suit has got full removable padded inserts, which add a lot of bulk to the suit when trying to pack jacket and trousers into a bag. Plus helmet, two pairs of gloves (summer weight and full waterproof type for the cold bits), light weight rain over-suit, kevlar lined jeans, many pairs of thick boot socks... that's just the riding gear. Plus all the other bits of clothing needed. My boots and some clothes went across in the bike crate, the clothes acting as cushioning in the box that held the screen. I may still need to purchase a mesh jacket for the
Doug and Cyborg Doug and Cyborg Doug and Cyborg

"Not your Grandpaw's Goldwing!"
hot days; I borrowed one last time I was there, I could not have worn my own stuff riding in 106F for hundreds of miles.

My buddy comes for me 6.15am Tuesday to take me to the airport. Flight is 10.30am but I want to be there well early as I am travelling on standby tickets.

Hopefully we will hear today just where the bike is and when we can expect to retrieve it.

Advertisement



3rd June 2013

the trip is on
two years in the planning. two days away from the start. this will be a trip of a life time for two old guys,and two old machines.,
4th June 2013

Best of luck.
Hope you get off on your adventure ok. We'll be watching your blogs to make sure you behave yourself!!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb