Road Trip North


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

NukedNukedNuked

I heard Homer Simpson Works Here
Who: Vic & Chuck
Destination: Scotland
Why: To get out of town and do some hiking and climbing
Driving: The somewhat reliable Accord

This was a completely unplanned trip. Almost anyway, we knew we were driving North. The start is typical of most trips: Pack Vehicle, use bathroom, go--> Get near destination and realize you forget something. I forgot to rent a climbing harness...the primary purpose of the trip was to do some climbing. So much for that. Plan B: Party...
Nothing is cheap over here, especially lodging and alcohol. Luckily I brought the alcohol to prestage, then we headed out to the local dance clubs. For those that know me, like most white guys, I don't dance, especially at clubs, unless of course I have plenty of alcohol...Details left out to protect the innocent (and myself)...Continue on to next day:
After a few hours of sleep we headed on to Edinburgh for the Edinburgh International Climbing Arena. I'm not sure where it ranks, but it claims to be one of the world's largest. At least I could rent a harness there. I think both myself and Chuck were a bit out of it for climbing, but went on anyway. It was only
BridgeBridgeBridge

Somewhere by Menwith Hill
the second time I've climbed this year and prior to that its been quite a few years. I think Chuck doubted my belaying abilities at first and I really don't blame him. Took me a few minutes to get back into it. I also realized that I'm still a bit afraid of heights. They had a 90 foot wall, I got up about 50 feetish and that was enough for me...not only that, it's a hell of a workout. Climbing will give you a fast realization to how strong you're not.

Hadrian's Wall:]

It's a stone wall. Check out the link to learn more: http://www.nationaltrail.co.uk/hadrianswall/. I'll probably hike or bike it one day to make it more interesting. Driving it isn't the same. However you can make it more interesting by stopping by the Temple of Mithras and visiting the cows. We made two important discoveries here. You cannot tip a waken cow...and cow's will charge you if you mess with them enough. The last cow I was trying to say hi to decided to charge Chuck (why not me we're not sure of) but he ran with cow kicking and headed towards him. I thought he was
Just meJust meJust me

Outside our first nights stay
a goner...A ton of cow meat vs. 170lb chuch, the odds are in the cows favor of course. Luckily Chuck had the right idea to slip and fall in a cow pie so the cow would stop charging in which it did. We called it a night. Chuck covered in crap and me exhausted from laughing...and the terror of charging cow's. Chuck doesn't want me to post the good pics so I'll respect that for now. I'll talk him into it one day though. Oh, the temple was pretty cool too.



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Statue of SomeoneStatue of Someone
Statue of Someone

Note the bird and the amount of crap on this guys head
Hostel RoomHostel Room
Hostel Room

If I were to picture what a prison cell looked like, I would compare it to this. (less the alcohol). I got top!
Woman 1Woman 1
Woman 1

Photography skills are improving...actually Chuck gets to take credit for this one.
Puke 1Puke 1
Puke 1

Another one Chuck can take credit for.
Clock TowerClock Tower
Clock Tower

View from the car in the middle of Glasgow
Sign 1Sign 1
Sign 1

One of many road signs that Chuck took pictures of.
Climbing Center 2Climbing Center 2
Climbing Center 2

Look Mom, no rope!
Fucking SatNavFucking SatNav
Fucking SatNav

Excuse my french, but I wasn't pleased when my SatNav died on me halfway through the trip. NAVIGON SUCKS DON'T BUY!!!
BridgeBridge
Bridge

Another Bridge
Bridge 3Bridge 3
Bridge 3

Oh look, another bridge.
MeMe
Me

Being a Statue


19th September 2008

Pictures tell a thousand words
I really enjoyed your pictures. Glad to see you expanding your experiences. I will be calling soon. Take care. Love your Aunt Marcia

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb