English Terminology (Part II)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Huntingdon
August 12th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Where is the most likely place you would hear the following:
"I stopped by for a drink and a fag"

A) Denny's restaurant at 2am
B) A gay bar
C) From a Brit at your local English Pub
D) All of the above

Answer: "D"

However, the difference between the three is that "C" refers to "Fag" as being what we americans call a "cigarette". I heard the phrase above at my local pub from a brit that was taking a break from his wedding party. I had to do one of those "Did I just hear you correctly" looks and then realized what he was talking about.
Anyway, I haven't blogged for awhile so I just thought I'd throw that out there. Life has been a bit boring until I catch up on bills thanks to this tremendous move to the U.K. and work on the house. However, I'm breaking in the house this Friday...Should be some interesting stories to tell...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb