English Terminology (Part I)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Huntingdon
July 27th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Learned a couple new words from a group I went out cycling with the other day:

Wood Butcher: A carpenter

I think this one was made up when we took the wrong turn while looking for the pub we were all to meet at...

Beer Hunter: One who hunts for a pub without a map.

Pint: Gives you energy to ride faster longer and gives you that "Liquid Courage". 1 Pint of Cider = 3 cans of American Beer. I underestimated the strength...don't drink and cycle.

Now I know I'm in England and they do speak English here, but some have a really strong accent, especially with some of the older crowd like the one I was out with, you don't understand a damn word they're saying. So just to be polite, when they laugh, I laugh too, but most of the time I'll have this "Curious" look on my face as I'm wondering "What are these people talking about and what country am I in again?"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb