The Highlands


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Arisaig
October 4th 2008
Published: October 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Harry's BridgeHarry's BridgeHarry's Bridge

This is the bridge in the Harry Potter movies. The steam train from Fort William to Arisaig is the one in the films.
Each time I create a blog entry I intend to write a long essay about my travels. It never gets written because it takes time to upload photos and make comments. This will be another blog with tons of pictures; I think they are the best part of the blog. When I am in Poland, I might not have access to computers to upload photos, so I might get to write those long, reflective essays. I do think alot when on trains and buses, and I compose some marvelous text in my head. The only insight that I'd like to share with you right now is that I should change the term 'year off' (that describes my year) with 'year on' because every day is filled with new experiences and challenges. Transporting myself across a city or county takes a lot of concentration. New people and scenery flow in front of me and I have long periods to reflect upon life. I learn every day more things that I would pick up in a classroom. This is a great year and I appreciate every moment (even when I get lost).


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Hill and lochHill and loch
Hill and loch

It is exciting crossing into the Highlands
HighlandsHighlands
Highlands

The bus ride through the highlands was spectacular
WaterfallsWaterfalls
Waterfalls

From every hill there were brooks and waterfalls.
Highland houseHighland house
Highland house

Yeah, I could live here for awhile.
Bonnie Prince CharlesBonnie Prince Charles
Bonnie Prince Charles

This is the site where Prince Charles came ashore.
Rail and cloudRail and cloud
Rail and cloud

Sometimes my journey feels magical.
Reflection on LochReflection on Loch
Reflection on Loch

Think this is Loch Logan.
LochLoch
Loch

Last two photos are out of order, as this is on bus to Glasgow. I wanted to put up the best pictures of Highlands.
BridgeBridge
Bridge

Back in order, this is approaching Arisaig.
ArisaigArisaig
Arisaig

This is the front lawn of Su and Ranald's house.
ArisaigArisaig
Arisaig

This is the harbour across from 'downtown'. Three hundred people live here.
Coastal WalkCoastal Walk
Coastal Walk

Ranald took Mist and I for a walk along the cliffs and shores.
MistMist
Mist

Yup, she loves walks. I miss my Callie.
HeatherHeather
Heather

I didn't know, but you can make beer out of heather.
WalkWalk
Walk

Mist and I
Relax with magazineRelax with magazine
Relax with magazine

So much world, too few days to travel.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Later that evening, Su and I went to her choir practise. I enjoyed listening to the music; bet they will win the next music festival.


Tot: 0.375s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb