And the Year Ended Without a Guardian Angel


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 31st 2012
Published: January 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm scared. I'm in this foreign country, alone. And I'm supposed to watch fireworks tonight. Its not the fireworks that's the problem. But other things inevitably comes with it. The crowd, the drunks, the wait, the safety risks....

But I decided to put that at the back of my mind for now. I have Windsor Castle to visit. I bought the 9.5 GBP off peak return ticket last minute because there's no savings anyway if I do advance booking.

I arrived around 10 am and hardly any queue. You have to scan your bags like in the airport before roaming around. I first stopped at the St George's Chapel and saw where the royal prays. They each have their own seat, I asked the guard to poing where Prince William used to sit. No pictures allowed but again managed to sneak in few.

After that joined the queue to see Mary's Doll House and the State Apartments. The doll house is basically miniature of the royal residence, not for kids to play with (despite of the names). It was nice but not really worth the queue. Then there was the queen's portrait gallery which was interesting as I see some famous photographers names there.

Then, to the main dish: the State Apartments! Now this is breathtaking! The armours, artilleries, paintings are amazing. Perhaps because its a working palace, so its well kept. They displayed video here and there of royal events that took place there. I particularly love the Waterloo Chamber and George's Hall. What's interesting is that the palace actually burnt down back in 1992 due to a hallogen lamp. The fire catches the wooden ceiling and spread fast. According to the guard, the fire brigade did arrive but cannot stop the fire. So most of the rooms were actually rebuilt. They lost 2 paintings but the guard say they did manage to salvage the rest. I kinda doubt it. They seriously had lots of displays and some are bolted in to the walls. So how can you save almost everything in the midst of fire? Anyway, its still very impressive. Oh, tips: on your way out, stamp your ticket and you can get back anytime within one year. On my way out, I was surprised to see the queue is very long, snaking even outside the complex. I feel sorry for those who joined tour groups. They only have 1-1.5 hours in Windsor, where at least 30-45 mins will be spent queueing. Why don't people just do DIY?

Before catching my train, I dropped by the uber famous Wagamama restaurant I knew Dennis Callan tour group always stopped by so I had high expectations. The ingredients were fresh but it was a bit bland for me. And I found a hair towards the end. I complained and they make the food free, yay!! Bought English Scones from nearby Cinnamon Cafe as recommended in tripadvisor and indeed it was very nice.

Back in London, I then went to Tower of London. The rain is getting more annoying and need an umbrella. Not sure whether I just seen to much or something, but Tower of London was a let down. Basically just bunch of emtpy towers and they put some displays. Few corners feel ghostly. You can see Tower Bridge from here. What's interesting is the Royal Beasts. What will you give to the man who has everything? Something he hasn't seen before. So apparently many kingdom gave the king weird animals such as leopard, ostricht, polar bear (seriously) and they are kept in the complex for over 600 years. Not sure whether it was true or not but they said the polar bear was sometimes harnest with a rope and they allow it to fish in the Thames river. After so many attacks (daaaa) - they finally move the Royal Beasts to a zoo.

Besides that, there's also the crown display with super long queue. Not sure whether I'm getting old or something but nowadays a queue is just turns me off. I decided to leave, snapped the London Bridge first then back to the hotel to rest.

Then its back to the original question: should I or shouldn't I watch the fireworks? In the rain. Oh my. Hhh.... I was so close to just pull the plug when something inside of me said that this is a once in a lifetime opportunity and I'll be sorry if I didn't even try. When would I ever be in London again in new year?

I sluggishly pull myself out. At least it wasn't raining anymore. Its already 9.30 pm and I'm not even interested to try to get near the Thames river. Based on tripadvisor tips, I'm aiming for a spot in St James Park. But its closed. So I settle for a spot near Horse Guard palace instead. You can still see the upper half of the London Eye. Besides, to watch big foreworks, you'll need to give sufficient distance.

While waiting, I'm prepared with big plastic sheet to sit at, fully charged BB so I can blog, water and even wearing an adult pampers so I don't have to go to restroom ha ha (seriously). Luckily things were under control and I didn't have to use it ha ha....

Nearing midnight, there were a lot tug and pull. Some I feel is deliberate. There's 2 meter high dude insisting to watch up front so the London Eye was covered by his head. I pushed through. It was difficult to enjoy when my left hand is taking video, right hand is taking picture (with a very heavy SLR) and you got smashed by the crowds. But London sure knows how to throw a party! Great fireworks. I'm glad I did it.

And now, the scary part. I always knew that the post firework stage is the dangerous one. When coming, people came gradually. But when its over, EVERYBODY is trying to leave at the same time. But the human traffic jam wasn't as bad as in Singapore where I can't move at all. Here you can still move and sneak your way in. But then the bad part is so many tube station that were closed. Even those who weren't scheduled for a closure (yes, I checked in advance). Even the police have different answers on which tube were open.

I walked, and walked, and walked. Up to a point where I didn't even know where am I anymore. I just ensure I still have crowds around me. So many drunk people yelling, some were fighting. This is the time where I wished I wasn't alone.

I did manage to find one tube station that was still open partially (cause the police already closed its other doors). Looking at the map, I'm about 3-4 tube up north vs where I started walking. Hoped on the train and came home at 1.30 am.

Gosh, the crazy things I do for the sake of a picture.... I'm just thankful I arrived safely. Apparently I'm more courageus and stronger than I think I am.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb