Against All Odds: Blue Sky in London during Winter!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 30th 2012
Published: January 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Having a very full itinerary yesterday, I started the day late. Only got out at 9.30 am. But today is the wrong day to be lazy. Because it got blue skies!!!! Going to London in winter, I'm well aware that I'm against the odds for blue sky. But there it is now.

Given the weather, I decided to ditch my original itinerary and make my way back to Westminster - so I can take shots of iconic London buldings with blue sky background. The parliament, Big Ben, London Eye, the red phone booth....

I was tempted to take the London Eye and already started queueing. But after overhearing some conversation of possible 4 hours wait until you can actually ride it, plus seeing the dark clouds moving in - I decided to ditch the queue and just roam around the city. Believe me, it was not an easy decision.

But it was the right decision nevertheless. I got to visit St James Park, :Horse Guard palace, passed by Churchill War Room - all with some patches of blue sky. I also walked along "The Mall" which is basically the long road in front of Buckingham Palace regularly used for royal procession. They have closed it for vehicles as they geared up for the new years eve tomorrow. Unfortunately it was cloudy above the palace. But it was still impressive to see (from outside).

I walked along and accidentally arrived at the Trafalgar Square. Helped myself with a Pret a Manger crayfish sandwich while watching the world goes by in front of Trafalgar Square. My feet hurts (especially my right knee) but I'm enjoying the scene. I popped by National Gallery since its already in front of me and saw Monet's Lily Pond painting. Not sure whether its real though. The museum is packed like a market (as its free) and you can get REALLY close with the paintings. They don't allow any picture so it was a quick detour. I rushed back to my hotel to pray and get a bit of rest.

In the afternoon, I'm supposed to go to Tower of London. Well I have to. Because I have prepaid ticket already. I was too late. A bit bummed cause as far as I know they are closed the following day and I will leave London soon. But the guard say they are still open tomorrow. Hope its true. Otherwise its a wasted 18.5 GBP.

I went back to the Westminster area to take blue hour sunset picture. I just had enough time to catch the last ray of light. Unfortunately they lit up the houses of parliament late so it wasn't as pretty.

I tried my luck again with the London Eye and this time the queue had significantly died down. It was around 5 pm and the nearest available "flight" was 7.30 pm. I decided to play it smart and opted for the 8.30 pm session instead. Why? So that I have enough time to go elsewhere rather than miserably waiting. In retrospect, I shouldve cut my losses and prebook London Eye at night. Then I can skip the queue and get discount. Most people still hoping for that blue sky (which is rare in any season). But taking a night session is a sure bet. Its dark and filled with city lights so it doesn't matter whether its cloudy or not.

Anyway, I marched to Hyde Park Winter Wonderland. Apparently thousands of other people had the same idea. It was soooo jam packed that I'm just thankful I still got my wallet at the end of the night. Lots of rides and food stalls. I tasted the crepes as I haven't had a proper meal all day. When I got out, the crowd grew even bigger as the nearest tube station already got partially closed.

Then, back to Westminster. Again! I started to feel the downside of my "smart" choice - my energy. I am soooo tired. And hungry. I decided to buy fish burger at McD and eat it outside while looking at the nice view. I was bothered by the pair next table who had quarrel. I know from which country they are from. Its the one place on earth I don't want to visit. It seems like the guy is an actor and the other one is his assistant. The assistant got yelled because his highness doesn't want ketchup in his burger and wants "curry sauce" instead. Oh my. What a drama ha ha. And then he threw bad jokes and the assistant is forced to bitterly laugh. I feel sorry for that bloke. If you can't even buy a McD on your own and throw such a drama over it - you must've
London EyeLondon EyeLondon Eye

Noticed that they colored one pod red, so they can count the cycle
have such a miserable life filled with unnecessary complains.

Time to ride the eye! Taking the last session was a good choice. There's barely any queue at all. I just go straight in. It was nice, but wasn't worth 4 hours queue. I'm glad I walked away earlier today. Got more pictures.

I dragged myself home. Limping. Cause my right knee is getting worse. If I thought yesterday itinerary was suicidal, today was a massacre. I'm just glad I got home safely.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb