D18 + 19: Torquay and Back to Weymouth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 7th 2014
Published: July 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The green isn't grass...The green isn't grass...The green isn't grass...

Oh the smell of... I don't even know what. Not good ocean smells.
July 6: Torquay lazy lazy day

Nothing overly exciting today - the excitement had more to do with the hostel overnight than anything else. The room door doesn’t lock from the inside in this hostel (which I *HATE*) and sure enough at 6am this morning a super drunk guy came into our (female dorm) room. He’s like ‘uh sorry’ but then of course doesn’t leave because he’s drunk. He started trying to talk with one of the girls who was actually awake and as we started to wake up enough to be annoyed he offered us all beers. Seriously. No. Go away. We were not very polite in our request for him to get out.

So, I wasn’t overly gungho this morning but nevertheless I headed down to the harbour and the coast for a nice walk by the water. That’s about it really… which is why I didn’t post this by itself yesterday haha. It was truly uneventful.

Back at the hostel I met this nice older British gentleman (in his late 60s) who got rid of his flat so that he could spend the money he’d normally spend on rent to travel. What a great way to travel the world. He travels around kind of aimlessly until he finds somewhere he really loves and sets up base there for a few weeks before moving on. In the past 6 months he’s been to 15 countries and is planning to go to Nepal in a few months..! Good for him.

Tomorrow I’m back in Weymouth so I may not have wifi again. We’ll see.

PS. Poundland here has the choco oranges for 95 pence. It's a miracle. I bought 3. I should have bought more.

July 7: Back to Weymouth I go

Today I headed back to Weymouth, so nothing overly exciting.

Train from Torquay to Exeter was nicer than last time - it was an 8 coach-er rather than just 2. It was slightly older though, one of those where to get off you have to lean out the window to get the door open - great feeling that is. The scenery was nice - there's a lot of red clay in the area so for parts of the coastline the water looks almost red from the run off.

I had to wait almost an hour for my bus connection back to Weymouth - I spent my time marvelling at the size of their seagulls (monsters) and getting my groove on with my iPod.

Bus ride was the same old, you know beautiful coastline scenery 😉 It did pour rain for most of the ride though... I've been oddly lucky weather wise in Dorset/Devon... very odd. Anyway, I have to give a shoutout to the bus drivers because these are not easy roads to putter about on - very hilly and very narrow, and by narrow I mean a lot of sections are one-lane for two-way traffic narrow... so there's a lot of reversing involved, or driving into the ditch, or hitting every single tree branch in your path.

Speaking of the busses, I love the names of their stops haha. Some of them are practical. (Next stop: The garage. The town hall. The dentist.) Some are regal. (Next stop: The George. The Adelaide. The Herald.) And then there's the random gem of: "Next stop: The Knights Bottom". I mean really, do I even want to know?

Anyway, small towns are cute. I love the seaside towns, the houses up in the cliffs and the many houses
HarbourfrontHarbourfrontHarbourfront

Seems like every city is getting a ferris wheel nowadays
that put teddy bears in their windows so they can watch the traffic go by 😊 And there was this one house with a cat sitting outside on the windowsill watching cars go by - but literally moving its head from side to side with each passing car. Adorable.

We passed this random farm again with a field of sheep and a lone llama. I wonder if the llama think of itself as a sheep?

We also passed another field with these very odd tin like cabins... I saw it last time and had no idea what it was, but this time I saw the sign about pig disease or something so I'm assuming they were pig huts?

Anyway, I'm back in Weymouth now - the hostel guy had a good time teasing me upon my return. We're totally best buds now, not even going to lie. I'm his French Canadian so we've decided. But then I dropped the bombshell that I have Eastern European heritage too and that turned into a whole other convo hahaha. Omg, I have to come back here next time just to keep these convos going. He's a gem.

Other than that I grabbed some fish n' chips and then I had to go do laundry which is ever so exciting. But you know what's way more exciting - LONDON TOMORROW. Finally going back to my home away from home thank you very much.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb