Walking in London for A Day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 11th 2013
Published: July 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

IMG_2678IMG_2678IMG_2678

Im not sure what the name of this monument is? but it was Beautiful enough to need to take a picture of!
So I decided to venture out into London on my own this day. Which the weather was quite nice for it too! As i was wondering through Chelsea streets i came across the London Underground Metro; which there is the Over ground, Underground, circle line, district line and National rail. All of these rails lead every where you need to go in London, which was perfect for me. I figured out that I could make it to every place I fancied; just on a Day pass for 8.50 pounds which is a hell of a deal. It sure beats walking or taking a taxi around London. So when we first arrived the cabbie from the airport to the Hotel recommended that we see Covent Garden because it was full of a bunch of thing we should see. So taking his word I found out where it was through the Handy dandy pocket tube map that I scored at the station, and with a little help from the station Staff i was on my way. The day before I had wandered into an Art gallery across from the chelsea Football club's home stadium. There was a very nice man that owned it
IMG_2681IMG_2681IMG_2681

Caught this bird in mid flight
an he recommended; that I go and view the national Portrait gallery while on Holiday. As I made my way through the Gallery, it was Astonishing to see such a wide collection of Sculptures, paintings, and old photographs of some of the most famous Brits of all time. I left the Gallery after about 30min, and ventured down the street to the post office to mail a post card I had forgotten to mail the day prior. as I walked into the shop, it was very full and I needed to ask someone what I Qualifications needed to meet to mail back home. Walking through the Busy office of people waiting for their number to be called. I came across an old man sitting at a side table, pasting 10 stamps to a single Blank empty envelope. His fingernails were long and dirty, Glasses foggy and he didn't look quite like he was all there in the head; but I noticed on the table before him he had sheets upon sheets of stamps. So I figured, Hell might as well ask this guy he seems like he knows about stamps. It was a better idea then taking a number and waiting for 20min to ask for a single stamp. So I sat at the chair kitty corner from him, an I said "Do you know how many American Stamps it would take to mail this post card back home to the USA?" (yes I do realize it was a completely stupid question to ask but I have never sent mail from another country) an then he says "He-uhh what Dud You Say?" and before I could replied a women chimed in an said "Oh no you cant use American Stamps here. (DUH!! I felt stupid) You have to use a single 88pence Standard." So as i recovered from this embarrassment I moseyed on over to the kiosk and a nice indian Lady basically did the whole Transaction for me, all I had to do was drop the 88pence in the slot, place the stamp, drop the post card in the bin and I was on my way! After leaving the post office I was able to find a Pub around the corner get a Pint and call home. I basically live by the Motto "You can never get lost, if you have no where to Go."~Josh Monroe so I just walked around for awhile, and found out that i was actually really close to the British National History Museum; which I came to find out is just an age old collection of The British Monarch and wealthier Families collection of loot. While in the museum I couldn't help but notice all the Korean tours going through the exhibits. It was really cool to be in such a diverse atmosphere, and converge over Artifacts from neither of our Backgrounds. on the way back i wandered through covent garden and the Leicester square Market bought a Nectarine for 50pence and it was a really good snack for the metro ride back to Chelsea. so on my tube map I knew the General vicinity of where my hotel was because its Chelsea Harbour, which is a bigger part of Chelsea so its easier to find; well at least thats what I thought.so i think to myself "Oh ya, ill just ride the metro down An jump off at putney bridge just before crossing the Thames and I will be way closer to the Harbour".(rather than get off at Fulham Broadway which is a ten minute walk back to the Harbour) Well turns out I was way off an it was a grueling 30-40min walk back to the Harbour, I was so tired and sweaty that when I got back to the room I sat down on the couch and passed out for almost two hours which was really bad because iIwoke up a 1030pm recharged enough to watch 'Brit Cops: Law and Disorder' till 4 am. Brit version of Cops is way better than the american version. Thats all for Thursday! till next time

Cheers, Lucas


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb