Chelsea Harbour


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 10th 2013
Published: July 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Chelsea Harbour... My first thoughts was Holy Hell the drive from Heathrow was kinda scary, these English drivers are insane. we took an "Iconic Black cab" as they call them in the London Taxi service to Chelsea Harbour. I could not get used to the driving on the left side of the road (Being that the only place outside of the states I have been to was Mexico which they drive on the "Right" side) I knew that they drive on the left side before I came over; But I did not comprehend how under qualified I would be to drive in the UK. I have my motorcycle endorsement in the States but I sure as hell would die if i tried to ride the motorways here in the UK. The drivers here in the UK are agressive, and honk a lot; but none-the-less they all seem to drive in sync with each other like a never ending dance of push and shove. While walking in down town Chelsea I assimilated well with the crowd, head down, subtly observing my surroundings, but alert to what was going on around me. The people of chelsea were a mix all of there own, Runners, Casual walkers, people rushing, kids walking home from school, people in the park, tourists, and people of all fashions. It made me think of my sister Kelsey; just the free spirit in the atmosphere, and the safe feeling of walking amongst strangers. It was empowering to walk around then stop at a Pub an order a Pint; go out to the patio and bask in the British sunlight. It was something that I had not experienced until then; sitting at a table with a stranger discussing what restaurants were good in the area over an Ale. In the states I could not partake in such "adult" activities, and it made me think of home and the drinking age. How I could not take ten steps into a Bar back home, Before I get asked for ID but I can waltz right into a pub; ask the barista what her flavor is an get a pint without having to show even a glimpse of ID. But hey thats Europe right!? I really do love it here! It is a little different to adjust the the "English" Dialect but the Brits just word things just a bit different than home.

Much Love, CHEERS!!

~Lucas

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb