SUMMER SOLSTICE AT STONEHENGE!!!!!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the stones the sun comes up throughthe stones the sun comes up throughthe stones the sun comes up through

they seem a lot bigger seeing them this close than they did from behind the rope.
Before I left Dublin, I was checking "summer solstice 2006/London" on the internet as Carlee and I were heading back that way. Well, what popped up was something I could not believe. Never in a million years did I think I would be able to go to Stonehenge for that one day of the year when everyone really wants to be there. Not only was this possible, IT WAS FREE!!! And there were no ropes up this time. Oh man, the best part was when I got back to my aunt and uncle's place, my aunt Deb's already knew about it and was like, "let's go, I'll drive". OK!!!!!

We got there around 11pm on the 20th. It was already pretty crowded and people were getting right into things, getting stoney at stonehenge seemed like the universal theme of the night. There was also a fair bit of drinking. At this time we were able to walk all around the "inner cirlce" of the rocks, it was great, you could touch them and in fact there were people climbing all over the rocks, which I did not want to do.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Aunt Deb'sAunt Deb's
Aunt Deb's

She is classic, supermomma and cool chick.
FIRST LIGHTFIRST LIGHT
FIRST LIGHT

this was just after about 3 hours of rain, it was a welcome site, that break in the clouds, we were SOAKED!!!!
FIRST LIGHTFIRST LIGHT
FIRST LIGHT

it was nice to just sit back and watch the colors change in the sky.
FIRST LIGHTFIRST LIGHT
FIRST LIGHT

there was a lot of people here, like thousands.
uncle matt and cousin louisuncle matt and cousin louis
uncle matt and cousin louis

papa was having a snooze and louis comes out giggling, "look, i did something funny to daddy", he put the hat over his face and thought it was hilarious


Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb