When in Rome...............


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 29th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Carlee and I only had 5 days in Italy, there is so much to see, it of course was not enough time, but we made the best of it. We had a few days in Rome, we went to Pompei and Mount Vesuvias and then a town called Sorrento.

While I was in Rome, I was thinking about that saying, "When in Rome, do as the Roman's do." I was thinking what the heck is that supposed to mean, what are they talking about?

I don't think the locals go to the Colliseum or the Vatican or any of those famous places, although we did do that. They do speak Italian, which I thought was very similar to Spanish, so I just spoke Spanish with an Italian accent, but I wasn't fooling anyone there. What else do the locals do? They dress really nice, that was not really doable with my ratty tatty wardrobe which is the same clothes I've been wearing since I was in South America and my budget did not allow a shopping spree in Rome, so I didn't make the dress code either. Eat pizza and pasta, yes, that was possible and it was delicioso!!!! The wood fire pizza was awesome, yum, yum.

The other obvious possibility was to drive a motorcycle, so we tried that but it went over even worse than the car idea in Ireland, see photos.........

So I don't really know what they mean by that saying but I do know that I left Rome with a much better understanding of history and a new appreciation for the people that came before us. Around every corner in Rome was a breathtaking structure of some sort, with a history that sometimes predated even Jesus, now that is serious quality architecture, mind boggling to think of the work that went into building some of these places. I think the key feature of the Romans is that they do not settle for mediocricy, and that is a good quality to take from Rome.

The ancient city of Pompei, about 5 hours south of Rome was an interesting place to visit. This city was in existence since the 6th century BC. Pompei was situated near to Mt. Vesuvias and the people did not actually know it was a volcano until 79 AD when they heard a mighty rumble and within 2 hours the entire city was covered in a shroud of ashes 6 meters deep. And the city was frozen in time. That is what we can see today, 2000 years later, even the stunned expressions on people's faces were preserved.

Our last night in Italy was back in Rome where we took in an Italian world cup match, they played Australia and they won, it was great, nothing like a world cup soccer match to expose the fiercely proud spirit of the people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

the colliseum from the insidethe colliseum from the inside
the colliseum from the inside

lions and tigers and bears, oh my VS the unarmed slave
the colliseum from the insidethe colliseum from the inside
the colliseum from the inside

the bloody games were shut down around the 5th century AD by the large christian population. the pope celebrates good friday here every year.
furfeetfurfeet
furfeet

time to rest (and wash) the ol girls, until next time......
sorrentosorrento
sorrento

an old castle under a bridge, weird place for a castle, heh


7th July 2006

Happy Travels!
Love hearing of your travels! Keep 'em coming!
26th July 2006

I do hope you were barricking for the Aussies ol' mate!!!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb