Liverpool rediscovered, Wales explored and Widnes witnessed


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 20th 2010
Published: July 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lillies at Bodnant GardensLillies at Bodnant GardensLillies at Bodnant Gardens

Imagine having these babies in your private pond.
This was my 3rd time to Liverpool… 3rd time in 20 years. I spent a small portion of my childhood in Liverpool and we’re fortunate to still have close friends that reside there. So I decided to take a trip back up memory lane. Too bad my memory had huge blanks spots in it! The main purpose of the Liverpool stop off was to see friends and even do a bit of work - processing some of the conversations and interviews I’ve had over the past few weeks. I was able to get a bit of stuff done, which was nice.

In amongst that I managed to pop over to Wales for the day with one set of my brother’s god-parents. We dropped by Bodnant Gardens for a walkabout. We were able to tarry awhile over the small slice of heaven cultivated by an old aristocratic family who actively encouraged study of botany. They sponsored many budding scientists in the 19th Century to collect specimens from around the world. From there we trouped through Conwy Castle - one of Edward I’s many forts built around Wales to subdue the Welsh. Nice. Crazy to think that this was someone’s home 800 years ago! Makes NZ feel rather youthful in comparison.

I also managed to make a trip to Widnes. Why Widnes? Because it’s famous for its chemical factory, and delightful ever-lingering chemical smell. In reality, it was to catch up with an old high school friend and let him show me round his ‘hood. Thankfully the weather was good and we were able to cycle round the town. We passed by the local town fair, followed the canal for a bit and saw the town square. It made for a pleasant afternoon. Had the weather been bad and forced us to tour Widnes by bus, the whole trip might have lasted half an hour! It feels like it’s a town in a bit of time warp. One that has been noticeably hit by a loss of industry that was the main stay... Provides food for thought on the whole global free trade issue. In our rush to get cheaper prices on goods we watch local industries diminish and towns locked into a cycle of deprivation...

In saying that, the trip up North was an enjoyable one. Traversing up and down the country, watching the landscape change through the train window has given me more of an appreciation for England as a whole.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Alert alert!Alert alert!
Alert alert!

Thank goodness for these helpful signs. Golly! I have bumped my head or hurt my eyes otherwise.
Town fair at WidnesTown fair at Widnes
Town fair at Widnes

Was a big turn out to the Widnes Fair.
Watery roadwaysWatery roadways
Watery roadways

Along the canal in Widnes.


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb