The last of Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
June 1st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

well here is the last pictures of Scotland.

So when I was in Edinburgh I checked my email in the morning just before I was planing to go south. Bro. Sanger had sent me a email saying that there was a sweet castle nearby that he had been to and said that I should check it out. He had been to it when he was in Scotland, and said that there was a cave near it that he saw but didn't have the time to see it, and he said that I should check it out and let him know what was in it. Well he forgot to send me the name of the castle and I searched for it for an hour, but couldn't find it. By this time it was about 10:00 my time and I had to make a decision, do I head south towards Ross or call him in the middle of the night. See, I was going towards Ross's house and would not be back in Edinburgh, so it was now or never. well I deiced to call Bro. Sanger at 5:30 AM his time, because I thought that when it was over and done it would be worth it, because this was a once in a life time kind of thing. So, I call Bro. Sanger and he was like "why in the world would you call me this early?" but he got up and sent me a email with the info I needed.

So off I went to find this Castle and the cave. Well finding the castle wasn't a problem and locating the cave was not hard, but getting to the cave was what posed a problem.(see some of the pictures, click on them to make them larger) The castle was located on the edge of a cliff and about 150 yards down the shore was the cave. So after surveying the situation I saw that there was an old road/path that was cut into the side of the cliff about 100 yards from the castle, but to get to it I would have to jump a stone wall and climb threw a barbed wire fence and sort-of-kind-of be on private land. Well normally I be like "Isn't that nice, okay time to go" but I since I had woken Bro. Sanger from slumber I knew what I had to do. well I put if off as long as I could, but it came to the time that it was a go, or go home. So, I walk up to the stone wall and leaned against it all casual like, and then when no one was around I jump the wall and ran as far as I could before I thought people could see me and then I just walked, and tried to look like I was supposed to be out there. The thing was, the castle was on higher ground and you could also go to the top of it and see the field that I was walking in, so once I was out there everyone could see me. Also to get to the old road I had to walk along the cliff, between a fence and the cliff, so at times I was vary, vary close to a 75-100 foot drop off. Well I made it to the old road and made my way down to the beach and found that it was still going to be hard to get to the cave(see picture). In several place the cliff went out into the water so I would have to
Bass RickBass RickBass Rick

Island with a lighthouse just off the cost.
do some rock climbing. This turned out to be the most dangerous part, because the rocks were wet and slimy. Well I made it passed the first one alive, on the second one I was half way pass it when I slipped. Okay, this was the most scariest part. When I slipped I began sliding down the rocks, which was like a wall and I had nothing from keeping me from falling into the water. When I was falling/slipping I had one of those moments, you know when everything goes in slow motion, and I thought to myself this is it. I'm going to fall into the water hit my head on a rock and drown, and on top of that no one knows where I am, all because I had to wake Bro. Sanger. Well I slipped into the water and it turned out to be only about 2 feet deep and vary cold! From then on when the rocks went out into the water I would just wade around them. I keep pushing until I came to the cave. Unfortunately the cave was only about 30 feet deep, but it was still cool to see it and I was happy that I got to it.


I'm sill at Ross's and will leave tomorrow. I should get one more post up tonight and I'll try to get some videos up of this story.

cheers


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Bass RockBass Rock
Bass Rock

the white things are birds.
Tantallon CastleTantallon Castle
Tantallon Castle

nah, we don't need it just build a wall there.
Tantallon CastleTantallon Castle
Tantallon Castle

So here is the cave, to the left. The Green marks where there is a beach, the yellow marks where there was slippery rocks, and the red marks where the cliff went out into the water and I had to do a "007" move to get around them.
Tantallon CastleTantallon Castle
Tantallon Castle

on my way down the cliff, there was an old, old road that was cut into the cliff that I went down.
Tantallon CastleTantallon Castle
Tantallon Castle

view from the beach,
CaveCave
Cave

on my way to the cave
Tantallon CastleTantallon Castle
Tantallon Castle

view from just outside the cave
THERE IT IS!!!THERE IT IS!!!
THERE IT IS!!!

I risked my life to get here, and boom goes the dynamite, I got to it.
No pain no gainNo pain no gain
No pain no gain

wounds from falling on the rocks into the water.


1st June 2009

How in the world did you know the cave was there? My favorite part was the "lean against the wall real casual like" then jump and run :) Great story! Was the trip back uneventful? Nobody wondered were you were coming from?
1st June 2009

I was going to ask the same questions Andrea asked.
1st June 2009

Nice
1st June 2009

Finally some action!
Adventure, you know you wanted it. A friend in need, you know. I am honored and complete, that cave was not left unexplored, the world is again right. The wound looked mortal too, awesome. My favorite post yet for several reasons, one, the cave, two, my AKA was used on several occasions (and you know how I like attention) and three, that was a neat place to be at. You are the man.

Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb