Last days in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 17th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So it only seems fitting when you have two newbies arrive in London (aka Brett & Lara) that some tourist sightseeing is in order...first stop - changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace. What a spectacle! Seems like a rather lot of fanfare for just some guards swapping shifts but you know, this is England, and its the Queen's guards so who I am to judge. I actually missed the fanfare walking in as I was trying to find my beloved friend Deon in the crowd (I was on the phone, on the other side of all this marching business) but thankfully 45 minutes later they walked back out again so I didn't miss EVERYTHING! Then off to Tate Modern, London Bridge and oh, some exhibition of guitars signed by famous people (photo op!! see below!).

Then a day trip with Jax and Deon...we were meant to make it to the Natural History Musuem except we stopped off at the pub (for a stodgy pub meal as we were all nursing some mean hangovers from the night before) and in true English summer style it rained (btw- June was recorded as the wettest they have ever had since records began...that's a lot of rain!) and well, we didn't all have umbrella's (mine was accidently left behind at the pub where Maz's work drinks were - funny that eh?) so we decided that we just had to stay in the pub (yes, yes, hard life I know). So in the end we ducked over to Harrods instead - the store that has it all...from a pet shop, food hall, fancy expensive clothes/jewellery/shoes, garden settings, pianos...everything...I think you can even book your overseas holiday in there! Unfortunately they also sell fur (grrr...not good) so in true moralistic style, none of us actually bought anything from them (morals 1, harrods 0).

So that's it - travel blog up to date now - am off to Poland tomorrow and judging on how long its taken me to get everyone updated on the past month, its going to take some effort on my behalf to keep you updated as I make my way to Romania (via Slovakia, Austria, Switzerland, Hungary)...hmmm, I'll do my best!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb