Day 15 - Stourport to Arley


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Worcestershire
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Map Day 15


I AM A GIANT!!!!I AM A GIANT!!!!I AM A GIANT!!!!

Just for you Sonia - more giant photos to follow! If anyone else has a photo of themselves where they look like a GIANT please email it to me and I will put it on my blog!
My mood and motivation swings an amazing amount each day at the moment. At the start of the day today I was incredibly positive after having read lots of lovely comments on my blog from you all giving me support and physically I felt like I could walk forever. Then it gets hot and I start to feel tired and my head begins to ask “Why the hell are you doing this?”, “Aughton is an awfully long way away still isn’t it?”, “Your feet really hurt now don’t they?” “You’ll never get there, you’ll have to stop and give up won’t you?”… But as always I can manage to keep walking, I do get to where I am meant to be going in the end and Aughton is getting closer with every step!

The countryside was beautiful today and apart from it getting really hot and a fisherman falling out of a tree in front of me nothing else exciting happened today. Oh yeah the fisherman was in full camouflage gear and I heard the branches brake as he fell down a good 2-3 metres and he tried to pretend nothing had happened but he must have hurt himself! It
Father Christmas FishingFather Christmas FishingFather Christmas Fishing

This wasn't the guy that fell out of the tree but I think there is something strange about most fishermen and this one looked like Father Christmas!
made me laugh for a good half an hour afterwards. He looked exactly like that guy off the TV series Spaced that always dressed in camouflage and went paint-balling (Mike?)… very funny, I wish I had taken a photo of him!

Due to restrictions on B&B’s I have booked into a B&B in Bridgnorth, 20 miles north of where Sasha dropped me off in Stourport this morning, and so today I just had to get to a Severn Valley Railway station and get the steam train up to Bridgnorth. The steam train was great but by the time I got on I was far more impressed with the comfortable seats and the man that came along with the refreshment cart, than the view out of the window or the sound of the steam train pulling us!

Todays Stats
Start Time - 8:30am
End Time - 12:20pm
Miles today - 8.33 miles
Miles Cumulative - 139.02 miles
Steps Today - 18,830
Steps Cumulative - 286,812
Blisters - 1
Chocolate/Granary Bars - 1
Rain - None
Temp @ Noon - 28c (very humid)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BridgeBridge
Bridge

I was getting close to the train station... another engineer picture I am afraid!
TrainTrain
Train

The train line is run entirely by volunteers apparently...


24th July 2006

My sides are still hurting from the "giant" jokes last weekend Andrew

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb