Stonehenge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Stonehenge
May 22nd 2007
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

StonehengeStonehengeStonehenge

A World Heritage Site since 1986
Since we arrived in London, it has been unseasonably cold and rainy. I was exhilarating to see a blue sunny sky on the day we traveled through country roads to see the famous Stonehenge.

I read about this prehistoric monument in books. I watched it on the Discovery channel. Finally, I saw the Stonehenge with my own eyes.

Situated in a vast plain, Stonehenge was truly impressive! I was awed by these massive, 5000 year-old stones. Some of the largest and heaviest stones where shipped from Wales, at least 100 miles away. Who build the Stonehenge? How did they do it? Why did they build it? A burial sit? A place for worship?
Regardless its original purpose, this is a place for magic and mystery, a place for imagination and a glimpse to the ancient history. Today, I am honored to see Stonehenge with my own eyes. With continuing preservation, I hope the stones stand for many many more years to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

StonehengeStonehenge
Stonehenge

An ancient burial site?
StonehengeStonehenge
Stonehenge

5000 years and still standing


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 27; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb