Bath, where the Ancient Spa meets the Modern Spa


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
May 22nd 2007
Published: August 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After visiting Stonehenge, we continued our trip to Bath, another world heritage site for its architecture and history. Since I didn't do any research, I didn't know what to expect from Bath. When we arrived, I instantly fell in love with this beautiful city. After spending few days in London, Bath was a welcoming and pleasant scenery change.

Bath is very picturesque. Every turn, there was a stunning site. The river, the hills, the buildings, the people... The air in Bath was crisp and refreshing. My spirit was lifted. London reminded me too much of New York city. But, Bath, reminded me that I was actually in Europe. A visit to The Roman Bath House is a must for first timers. Two thousand years ago, Romans built the magnificent bath house over the natural hot spring. It is believed that the spring water, rich with minerals, has the healing and restorative power. Staring at the Great Bath, I imagined the warm spring water touching my skin, imagined I was bathing in the Great Bath in this temple....what was it really like 2000 years ago?

We spend some time wandering around the city, visiting the Abbey, exploring some shops and ended up with a big ice cream cone in our hands by Pulteney Bridge over looking the river. "I really love Bath", I told E. What a lovely day!

Later on, I learned that The Thermal Bath Spa opened in summer 2006 to provide a relaxing and rejuvenating experience for people from all over the world. The Roman Bath meets the Thermal Bath in this charming elegant city. Unfortunately, we didn't have the time to experience the healing effect of the hot spring. Perhaps, one day, I will return to Bath....



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Great BathGreat Bath
Great Bath

It is magnificent!
Bath AbbeyBath Abbey
Bath Abbey

Built in 15th century


Tot: 0.348s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb