London


Advertisement
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the way to the British museum, the bus driver told me that they had the perfect sunny spring weather for 2 weeks just prior to my arrival. I, wrapped in 4 layers of spring clothe, was still shivering after getting off the bus. This is exactly how I remember my London trip: wet and cold.

One of the exciting aspect of traveling to a foreign country is that you become temporarily incompetent.
I would probably be killed thousands of times if the British had not painted "look right" and "look left" on the ground of the major intersections. Of course, at those "no so major" intersections where the "direction" was not provided, I was on my own. Until the third day, my brain finally adapted to this new rule. I was like a 5 year old learning how to cross a street for the first time.

Traveling to a foreign country also tests your ability to be flexible and open minded. Running through the royal parks was one of my "see the world with my running shoes" destination. Unfortunately, The rain postponed my plan. To avoid suffering from "runner's high" withdrawal, I dragged myself to the hotel gym, still couldn't stop thinking about the Green Park, the Hyde Park. Oh well.... I stepped on to the treadmill, push the buttons to my usual setting and started running. Three minutes into the work out, I was convinced that this treadmill was broken. It is just impossible that my feet could actually move faster than the belt at my USUAL setting. Five minutes after the work out, I had the GREATEST revelation, the greatest "Ah Ha" moment in my life. I quickly estimated my pace at kilometer per hour, changed the setting, and the treadmill instantly work perfectly. (Definitely an example of my stupidity at work.)

Few days later, while the rest of the city was still asleep, it stopped raining. In the speed of light, I put on my running shoes and headed to the Royal parks. What a beautiful running route! However, not a single smile, wave or hello from other runners. Perhaps, we were all completely emerged in this non-rainy morning. "Where have you been?" E was just rolling out of the bed when I returned from my early morning Royal Parks tour.

One other thing I quickly adapt to while in London was not to think about the currency exchange rate too much. A cup of coffee, a sandwich appeared to be in the same price range but only they were priced in GBP. It would just drive me crazy if I had to multiply everything by 2 and do the comparison. After all, I didn't come all the way to London to starve myself. Thankfully, I stayed within my budget. (China town always has cheaper food)

Always expect the unexpected. We found ourselves sitting in an internet cafe trying to figure out the cheapest way to get to Paris from London. Another afternoon, we found ourselves walking into a community HIV clinic thinking it was a place for afternoon tea.

On our last day, the sky was finally clearing up but we were already boarded the train heading to London Luton airport for Paris.







Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.337s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb