The cruise continues...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Tyne & Wear » Newcastle Upon Tyne
September 6th 2023
Published: September 16th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Which ship is ours?Which ship is ours?Which ship is ours?

The Viking ship looks like fun but I think I can see Peter peeking out of our window on the cruise ship waiting for me to return!
Dianne was feeling pretty low while we were in Liverpool but started to feel better as we visited Greenock outside Glasgow. I, on the other hand, started to feel worse. Sore throat and cough and I started to feel a bit feverish. The “at sea” day (August 31st) was a bit of a blur to me and the COVID tests we did on September 1stwere not designed to make me feel better. Dianne was negative, but I was positive; she even tested both of us twice Sigh.

Discussions with the on-board medical people determined that I would have to stay quarantined in our stateroom, but Dianne was OK to carry on as normal. The fact that I got free Wi-Fi, free room service and free alcoholic and other drinks did not really make me feel better. The food I did manage to eat was excellent, but I couldn’t enjoy the free drinks because my throat was so sore. The biggest disappointment was that I couldn’t get off the ship in Newcastle where the ship docked about three miles from where my Dad was born and I was looking forward to visiting the area.

As I was unable to get
A first view of Lerwick, Shetland IslandsA first view of Lerwick, Shetland IslandsA first view of Lerwick, Shetland Islands

I took a tender from the cruise ship to the town
off the ship to visit the next few sites, Dianne will take over the blog to tell you what I missed:

Life on board with someone who is in quarantine

Well, it is rather interesting to share a room with a quarantined person! Needless to say, I was out of our room as much as possible each day. I was glad that we had a king sized bed as Peter slept close to one edge of the bed and I hugged the other edge. Both of us wore masks the whole time; quite an adventure and somehow I managed to avoid Covid.

As Peter mentioned, August 31st was a “sea day” so I did exciting things such as doing laundry, bringing coffee, juice, ginger ale, and ice cream to Peter, playing cards and reading and going to some of the onboard entertainment.

The Shetland Islands

I left the boat and took one of the tenders into Lerwick which is located on the largest of the islands called Mainland. I wandered throughout the town until it was time to get back to the pier for the excursion to Jarlshof, which presented a “journey through 4000 years
The new Shetland LibraryThe new Shetland LibraryThe new Shetland Library

Officially opened by the author, Ann Cleeves, on December 11, 2021
of history” from the stone age through the bronze age, the iron age, the time of Norse settlements, and then medieval times. It was a fascinating place and I was sorry that Peter had to miss it.

On our tour bus drive from Lerwick to the site, which was right at the bottom of the island, we travelled on several one lane roads past stunning scenery, lots of stone walls and stone houses and, of course, sheep. At the end of the island, the North Sea and the Atlantic Ocean meet. Near Jarlshof is the Shetland Airport, which really does seem to be in the middle of nowhere. The road goes right across the runways. As a plane was landing, the road was closed for a few minutes.

Invergordon

The weather has been amazing; another beautiful warm, sunny day for exploring. Peter had his first “quarantine meal” delivered and he ate a little bit but his extremely sore throat, nasty cough and fever certainly took away the pleasure of food (although the ice cream that I bring him feels very good on his throat, he tells me). The medical centre delivered a bag of things for me
Lerwick Lerwick Lerwick

A lovely sight with the hills in the distance
to use – masks, disinfectants, gloves, etc – in our room as the steward is not allowed to enter. I even had to strip the bed and put clean sheets on it! Hmm, are they paying me!!

So, once again I’m on my own for the day of exploring Invergordon. I followed a mural trail, visited a small and very interesting museum and ended up back near the pier in time to enjoy displays by the coast guard, fire, ambulance, and search and rescue. Volunteers were selling hot dogs, hamburgers and drinks to support all these important groups so I bought some food. Several highland dance groups performed.

Once I got back on board, I called the medical centre again as we have forms to fill out so that Peter can be approved for antiviral medication. The medication is very expensive and he’ll take it for 5 days.

Orkney Islands

Due to winds gusting up to 50 knots per hour, the ship’s captain made the decision to cancel all shore excursions; a wise move as he didn’t want to have many guests stranded on the island and unable to get back on board. All of us
On the road to JarlshofOn the road to JarlshofOn the road to Jarlshof

The coastal drive, often on one land roads, was picturesque. The small white dots in the forground were sheep!
who had paid for excursions were given refunds (oh yes, Peter was given refunds for all his excursions). One change in the day’s itinerary was a special presentation on the Falklands War with Lieutenant Colonel (retired) Sulle Alhaji. His presentation was excellent. It was so popular that he ended up doing the same presentation on a subsequent day. I was really glad that I had gone to his presentation.

Queensferry near Edinburgh

An absolutely gorgeous day; sunny and warm. In order to get ashore, people who chose to leave the ship were tendered to the dock of Queensferry. I decided to stay in Queensferry rather than make the trip into Edinburgh, a city that Peter and I had explored some years ago. Queensferry was a very interesting small town to explore. I toured the small museum, found an old church that used to be a Carmelite monastery, and explored a walled garden on my wanderings down narrow laneways and cobblestone roads. Once on board, I again ate by myself (I made a point of trying not to sit near any other people). Then I went to an amazing show featuring Michael Bacala, a Polish violinist. Wow! Fortunately, as
Stone ruinsStone ruinsStone ruins

Stones were used everywhere to build walls, homes, churches, animal shelters, ...
very few people sit right at the front of the large theatre, I was easily isolated from others – masked, of course.

Newcastle Upon Tyne

As Peter previously mentioned, he was so disappointed that he had to stay in our room and miss revisiting his roots. Peter asked me to check out the place where his dad had been raised as well as the seashore and the priory and castle ruins. So, with google maps in tow, I set out on my day’s adventure. After crossing two locks at Lock Gate Waterways, I found a tree lined bike route (#72) and followed that for a while. Eventually, I found 111 Trevor Terrace and took pictures of it. I continued on my way and spent a bit of time in Northumberland Park which had some ruins of a medieval hospital and herb garden. Out of the park and on my way again. I was so surprised to come across Mariner’s Lane, where Peter’s great aunt and uncle had lived. Shortly after, I saw a sign showing the way to the sea so there I went. What a beautiful expanse of sandy beaches; indeed, the beach is called Long Sands
Seals not peopleSeals not peopleSeals not people

This very secluded beach was a favourite resting place for seals
Beach. When Peter’s parents had visited England for their 25th wedding anniversary in July 1967, there were pictures of Peter’s mother “plodging” in the sea there. Then, I was off to find the Tynemouth Priory and Castle. The ruins of the priory and chapel were amazing. Now, my mission was to find my way back to the pier and the cruise ship. With only a slight error (thanks to a very nice man who helped me find the bike path), I did return to the ship after likely walking for about 10 miles. I was quite proud of my day’s adventure.

When I got back on board, we were given the good news that Peter’s quarantine would end tomorrow morning, September 6th. We celebrated with a glass of wine each, thanks to room service.

We now return to regularly scheduled blogging as we have out last ”at sea” day on our way to Portland Island, our last port of call. ToBeContinued.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

The ruins of JarlshofThe ruins of Jarlshof
The ruins of Jarlshof

A remarkable journey through 4000 years of human history
No photo ops pleaseNo photo ops please
No photo ops please

These Shetland ponies were certainly not interested in people, maybe because we didn't have food for them.
Covid cleaning suppliesCovid cleaning supplies
Covid cleaning supplies

Once Peter was in quarantine, I was given a bag of "goodies" - masks, vinyl gloves, Jcloths, plastic bags, disinfectant spray, and a huge orange bag labelled for hazardous waste.
Oil drilling platformsOil drilling platforms
Oil drilling platforms

near Invergordon, Scotland
Follow the mural trailFollow the mural trail
Follow the mural trail

Invergordon boasted several murals
Sheep everywhereSheep everywhere
Sheep everywhere

You can even find them in people's windows.
High Street News High Street News
High Street News

Please don't expect any newspapers soon from this office.
Lots of entertainmentLots of entertainment
Lots of entertainment

As I neared the dock, the local emergency groups were on display. They also hosted various young dancers who certainly entertained the crowds.
Always something to doAlways something to do
Always something to do

Maintenance work occurred every day. On a shore day, these workers were painting part of the ship's exterior.
Bridges everywhereBridges everywhere
Bridges everywhere

I took this photo from the tender dock at South Queensferry, near Edinburgh
Guardian of the BridgesGuardian of the Bridges
Guardian of the Bridges

"I was designed by the pupils from several local primary schools and created by the artist Debbie Ryan in 2015"
A street viewA street view
A street view

Walkways in front of homes were often a few feet above the cobblestone streets.
The Vennel Burial GroundThe Vennel Burial Ground
The Vennel Burial Ground

The small church is closed down and the burial ground is behind a stone wall.
Lovely mosaic muralLovely mosaic mural
Lovely mosaic mural

The mural in this public garden was so long that I couldn't capture the length of it.


Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb