Goodbye Cape Town


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Epsom
August 23rd 2017
Published: August 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Good morning from grey Epsom- but very green Epsom!! Haylie's first comment was: 'your grass is so nice and green'. Believe me - they don't spend any time watering it ?

Cape Town was just amazing and I was blown away by the effort my friend Marzanne went through to see us and spoil us. But as always- the time is just too short. We tried to do a few sites but Lexie was not well and I ended up taking her to a dr and as expected- she had a shocking ear infection. I was reluctant to take antibiotics but wow - they do work when used correctly. She back to her cheeky self.

My parents are well- as well as they can be I think. The kids did not warm to them straight away and I was a bit sad since that was the whole idea for them to just spend time together. They're definitely NOT used to kids. My dad is also in constant pain and not sure how to even approach the subject- as they will tell me - they've been to the dr's and they don't know what is wrong. They don't have the money to persue second opinions and it was heartbreaking to watch. He could not walk or play with the kids for more than 15 minutes, when he sat down- he can't get up. Camps when he sleeps. Just so sad to see him like that. Mum has not changed much - still has no tact nor filter. But I held it together and did not respond once - so there was peace for the whole time. The declined a lot of offers to be taken out but we made sure to be back for dinner and we enjoyed our amazing view and did food and treats till bed time. They've become more secluded and although we hired them their own car- they did not go see any of their old Cape Town friends which I thought was sad too.
My brother- brace yourself..... came to the airport to great us which was unexpected and lovely. They both were very busy at work during the week but we spent a whole Saturday together- we chatted away and the kids played. It was brief but still worth the effort.

The goodbye's were all sad and while I had a brave face - Haylie just burst into tears when we said goodbye to Marzanne and her family. (they went home to check flights to come visit us) With my parents there were no immediate tears but my heart was heavy and I was for sure crying on the inside.

Our long flight was not too bad until I had to wake the kids at 4 am to have breakfast when they only managed to fall asleep at midnight ☹️☹️ The transfer in Germany was hairy and very stressful as I had a FULL- up close and personal- body search and a bag search under police (armed) watch till they found a 110g tube toothpaste ??
We had to run for our gate and made it with 10 minutes to spare. Poor Lexie's face: ' mummy can I pee in my nappy ??. Anyway we made it and was greated by ..... no one at Heathrow. That immediately put Gary's back up and he turned into Prince Charming when we waited two hours to pick our hired car up ( not from the airport) and had to pay an £300 upgrade cause the booked car was smaller than my golf. I'll leave the rest to your imagination.

We arrived at Gary's brother past 11 am (landed at 7) to two very excited cousins and the girls made friends immediately. We had coffee and more coffee followed by more coffee. Adam was a great host despite taking 3 conference calls for work and we were all in bed by 8pm.

They're all waking up now...... I'll keep you posted




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



24th August 2017
IMG_6379

Lovely family photos.
Sorry to hear about to mum and dad - it is so hard, makes it difficult when you are so far away from them. We've had a lovely week with the boys at home. So good to be a family of 4, even if it was only for 7 days. Lots of lunches out and about in Canberra. Take care. Big hug to the girls. Mary

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb