JO's UK Travels Summer of 2013


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Ipswich
August 9th 2013
Published: August 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Friday August 9,2013 Suffolk


I woke up to a overcast day at PFH. After breakfast....I was ready for a stint at "The Community Shop" in Sproughton. Now...you ask what am I talking about ...well put down your coffee and find out how this village shop got started. Several people in the community came up with a way for the villagers to have a local small grocery shop. Through a lot of perseverance, patience and funds..... the Community Shop opened in April 2010. This shop has been going strong for the past three years with the help of many people especially the volunteers. I put on a blue apron and stood behind the counter and greeted customers and stocked shelves. Also...I enjoyed ringing up the customers with the "till"(cash register) and counting out the right change. Remember folks.....British Pounds is a different currency than the American Dollar. I really had a wonderful time meeting a whole slew of new characters.


In the afternoon.....I took the #13 Green Bus down to the town center of Ipswich and did some errands. It was really fun wandering around and seeing the town bustling and a diverse group of people coming and going. When I

got to the Post Office branch in Tower Ramparts (Mall) .....the teller realized by my accent that I was not from Ipswich. He sold me stamps for postcards to the states and I began to tell all about Princeton. Before I knew it......I had made a new friend and he wished me well on my stay here in the UK. One more thing............he kept calling me "darling" which reminded me of Virginia ...she loved to say that to her friends and family. I hopped onto another #13 bus that would get me back home to PFH and it was great watching the world go by. I arrived at PFH with 2o minutes to freshen up before heading out to hear a friend's daughter sing at a pub in a town called: Edwardstone. The White Horse was hosting a performance by the youngsters who participated in a week long Rock Music Camp in Haleigh. Music and the perfomers were fabulous! Dinner and conversation around the table was great plus afterwards......watching a British Crime Mystery TV show. Goodnight Folks and Rock on!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1121s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb