A day in Sheffield


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield
November 28th 2014
Published: November 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

A day in Sheffield, where I caught the tram into the main city and out to the Hillsborough stadium, to pay my respects to the 96 who died in the football tragedy 25 years ago in the FA cup semi final, between Liverpool and Nottingham Forrest.

It was touching, reading and seeing all those scarves, the pictures and the messages from loved ones. You cannot even fathom what they are feeling, and with the ongoing events, I just hope that closure will come to them in the close future.

From there back into the city, where I find myself in the Fargate mall. Wow, my first sign that Christmas is not far away, with stalls and Santa's grotto in the midst of it all. I wandered up and down and also visited the Peace Gardens, which was very pretty too! Sitting behind the City Council building. I also, for those cricketing people, managed to find a sports store to pay respect to Phil Hughes who passed from a tragic cricket accident only a day or two ago.

Onward, I walk to Castle Square where I find a nice little hotel to have lunch in and of course a Carlings beer that I hadn't had as yet.

From here, the tram back to Meadowhall Shopping Centre to have a look through, although with it being black Friday, I gave the idea away, there were so many people there you couldnt have a wander.

All in all, a very pleasing day and really enjoyed my day in Sheffield.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb