Liverpool Football Club


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
November 26th 2014
Published: November 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I had a tour ticket for the Anfield Stadium - Liverpool FC home ground. I arrived a little early, so I could do the museum prior to the tour. I had the opportunity of getting my photo taken with the Champions League Cup - and not only did i just get to put my hands on it, i got to lift it and hold it near a life size picture of Steven Gerrard. What a highlight, I then walked through the museum looking at the history of the club, the Managers, the Players, and also a few pieces of the Hillsborough tragedy, where 96 lives were taken during a game in 1989 because of overcrowding including the memorial wall.

From the museum I then went for my tour. Instead of the normal 40 to 50 people they get, there was only 5 of us on the tour. It was more personal and our tour guide was wonderful with his knowledge and the little extra pieces we got to see. I got to go to the players change room, where the jerseys were already hung for the next game and yes, I was able to touch them, and got a little picture with Steven Gerrard's. Into the opposition change room, the referees and then the Players race where they lead to the field. We had a voice over of the crowd as we entered the field, then into the Manager's and officials dugout, where I sat on the Liverpool Manager's chair he sits on at the games. Looking around the stadium was amazing, taking it all in. We walked the edge of the pitch to the other end where the song was played and just stood, and videoed around the ground, just imagining being part of it all as if there was a game playing. This was the end of the tour but an experience not to be missed if you are a Liverpool fan and travelling to England.

Onto the Liverpool store for a few goodies to take home of course, and then to the Boot room (restaurant) for some nice lunch and a cold beer. Lunch was very nice and hospitality was outstanding from all at the club there.

Great day, and back to my room for a relaxing night before heading east tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb