A real rest


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Glastonbury
May 29th 2005
Published: May 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

SunsetSunsetSunset

A sunset from the top of the Glastonbury Tor
After a pleasent stay in Bath I decided to put some of my University education to good use (about time). After taking an Arthurian Legend english course I decided to head to Glastonbury for an attempt at some more rest and relaxation. I got there on Saturday and booked into a lovely B&B for a couple of days and started exploring.

Glastonbury is a lovely small town. There main street is dotted with shops of every type immaginable, from new age healers to celtic styled clothing to music shops. I spent hours just wandering around looking at all the neat trinkets. After my meandering I headed to the the Glastonbury abby ruins, which were much more extensive than I thought. They consisted of a large farm ground with the ruins of the abby peeking from a well groomed park enviroment. They even had duck and fish ponds. It was great fun just wandering around the abby and relaxing.

From there I headed to the summit of the Tor, which is considered to be the isle of Avalon since it would have been surrounded by water for most of the year before man started mucketying up the enviroment. It was
Glastonbury TorGlastonbury TorGlastonbury Tor

The Tor seen from the ruins of Glastonbury Abby
a short by steep climb with a view more than worth the small amount of effort required to climb to the sumit. It was beautiful to stand up there and watch the sun set.

Tomorrow I will continue my Arthurian themed portion of my trip and make my way towards Tintangle castle. The exact details of this journey are unclear to me know but I think that they will work out.

One last note about Glastonbury, apperently since it is a spiritual center for new age stuff, I guess that means that they try to discourage the use of computers since the best rate I saw while I was in town was about 5£ / hour. It is best to wait till after you leave to perform any internet transactions, hence the lack of contact for the last couple of days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Chalice WellChalice Well
Chalice Well

Supposedly where the Grail is Hidden


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb