A day of slow travel


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » Bude
May 30th 2005
Published: May 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Costal PathCostal PathCostal Path

One of the many amazing views from the Cornwall costal path
It appears that the Monday was a bank holiday. At the end of this day the only name I have for this holiday is 'bank holiday' and have no idea what this is about other than creating dreadful traveling conditions. I would highly advise waiting until after and 'bank holidays' to travel. I left Glastonbury and headed to Taunton with the bus being a half hour later than expected. No problem. Once I arrived in Taunton the connecting bus to Exeter required an hour and a half wait. Still not too bad. It was lunch by then so I went and grabbed a sausage. Once I got to exeter I found that there were only two buses going to Bude that day. with the first one leaving at 13:00 and the next one leaving at 17:15. This was where the real delay came since it was by that time 14:00. After a very long wait I got onto a bus that was filled to capacity and proceeded to travel over some of the roughest and most winding roads I have been on yet.

However the destination more than makes up for the extra five hours of travel time. I am on the Cornwall coast and have a magnificant view of the sea. The town reminds me of Port Dover back home but on a much grander scale. I am planning to take a bus to Bostown tomorrow and take the coastal trail up to Tintangle castle, approximately a 15 Km hike. I decided against the full 45 Km hike from Bude after hearing that the trail is 'very difficult'. I have hopes of vanquishing the shorter hike but realize that if I did the full hike and left from here at 6:00 am, I still wouldn't have reached Tintangle before the castle closed. I am looking forward to this hike as the scenery has been described as stunning.

I just have to wake up early to pick up some bread for my hike. I have granola bars, trail mix, peanut butter, honey, fruit cake, supplies for a hearty omlet for breakfast but due to the 'bank holiday' no stores in town had bread, one of only two necessary ingredients for a sandwitch.

Mmmmmm.......sandwitch

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb