T-19


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Clevedon
March 6th 2011
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

20110306


Frozen summitFrozen summitFrozen summit

Glasgwm summit ice
Rose early and drove up the winding lane to Cwm Cywarch. Found the newly created wee car park. The clouds were high and the morning was very cold. The forecast had promised they would lift my midday but I didn't mind either way really. I marched up past the last farm and onto the side of Glasgwm, zig-zagging my path up the track, then path until I reached the windy col. One foot after another, discomfort in each step as the muscles struggled to awaken. On slow mornings like this it feels like the muscles are being reminded of the previous day's exertions and complain their way to movement.

By the time I reached the col, I was plodding rather than walking but I kept a steady pace, waiting for the awakening I knew would come eventually. As I rose onto the summit plateau of Glasgwm, the ground around was becoming more and more icy. Frozen tussocks all around. Ahead, the lowest of the clouds was hiding the summit cairn ahead. Every wire of the fence I was following was bathed in fine strands of windswept ice - truly beautiful. At the summit and its cute little summit lake, everything
Frozen fenceFrozen fenceFrozen fence

near the summit
was covered in ice. The summit cairn was a perfect grey/white split where the wind had blown icicles onto every stone on one side, leaving the other half dry as a pile of stones.

I crunched my way down the other side to the northern col, the cloud slowly lifting, the sun peeking through. Decided against completing the entire circuit as I still had a long drive ahead of me so I picked my way down the track running through the steep and picturesque gully, a lively, tumbling stream keeping me company.

By the time I reached the valley, the sun was out and the day was warming up. Already hard to imagine how cold and icy and desolate it was at the top. Glasgwm is a beautiful mountain and if you get up to the summit plateau early after a frozen night, it's even more special.

The sun burst through on the long drive back and the Brecon Beacons stood proud all around, tempting me away. My brain was so fatigued and/or distracted on the way back I drove about 20 miles off track before I realised and had to double back on myself. I think
Glasgwm from belowGlasgwm from belowGlasgwm from below

So innocent and sunny
I may sleep well tonight. Football tomorrow night and I really hope my achilles (which ached all morning - the achilles tendonosis back again) behaves.

Only two more weekends between now and departure day - there's never enough time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb