'Taking a break' means Procrastination


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
January 23rd 2006
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So in lieu of studying for my last remaining final, I have decided to catch everyone up on just what has transpired since the beginning of finals week.

My first two finals went fine, I hope, although they were quite hard and people here write an extraordinary amount in a short period of time. By this I mean that the test booklets are on A4 paper, with about 6-8 sheets per booklet. People would actually ask for another booklet, so they were definitely writing essays.....research essays that they amazingly remembered. I was quite impressed but also quite annoyed, as I always am when people need to use extra booklets. It just doesn't seem necessary sometimes, plus they were killing more trees.

EXAM 1: Contemporary World
This exam was held in the sports hall, the large one, which means that I took my 3 essays in 3 hours exam with students from 4 other classes. It was quite intense and a bit odd but whatever. There are really strict rules for taking exams here, but it wasn't soo bad. I think I did pretty well on this exam, but am not too worried because I got the highest grade on the essay for this class, of the 3 papers that I turned in before break.

EXAM 2: Anglo-Saxon England
Held in the Law and Soc. Sci. building in a room that usually had horrible rows of seats and short tables was not going to be fun. BUT...they took out all those horrible lecture seats and instead set up individual seats. They definitely space you out so that no one is really around you which is kinda nice. Plus you have tons of writing space and leg room, other pluses. This exam was harder than I imagined, but hopefully I did alright because I could definitely use a boost. That isn't to say that I haven't been doing pretty well in the class, just that I'd like my grade to be higher than where it stands now.

Inter-Finals Holiday: CARDIFF!
So...Taylor and I were all set to go to Cardiff. Our bags were packed and we were going to be on our way.......and then I got sick. Figures that I would get sick and we'd have to cancel our trip. Frankly, it sucked big time. I felt really bad but I was physically sick all day which was totally not fun and it was a good thing that I didn't get sick on the 4 hour bus ride there, that's for sure. I also got some other really painful boil/cyst thing which made everything worse....so now I'm taking antibiotics and feeling much better. 😊 But still, I missed the trip to Cardiff. HOWEVER, we are going to Amsterdam the first weekend in February which should be pretty cool and I really hope that I'm well for that trip. It's a Broadgate Park trip, meaning that it's run by the place where I live (the hall, sort to speak).

So basically that's it. And now I must get back to studying for my last and final exam of semester one in the UK....history of Nottingham (and other cities for comparison). Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb