Thai Cheese Works


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 19th 2005
Published: October 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Girls @ The WorksThe Girls @ The WorksThe Girls @ The Works

Tasha, Sam, Me, Alaina & Leslie
What to say about Wednesday.....
I had a non-US foreign policy class this morning which was nice. Today's contemporary lecture was on communist world systems starting with the Soviet Union, of course. It was a really interesting lecture, more cultural history than data or political/social history--I think I fit in the cultural history framework better than the political, although social isn't too bad. Lecture was the only real thing that occurred in the morning.

After lecture I went home to eat lunch, quickly, before frisbee practice at 2pm. Practice today was good although there are some people who continue to come out, which is really awesome, except that they still haven't grasped how to throw a disc correctly and arrive at practice in jeans and a jumper. It's a bit insane and at some point I think someone who's on the committee needs to say something, but I don't know if they will. Anyways, beyond that it was good. Everyone who's been playing for a while seems to know me by name now which is pretty cool. I know most of them, but it's pretty easy since they all go by random nicknames and not they're given names. However, this
pre-Works Hanging Outpre-Works Hanging Outpre-Works Hanging Out

(L-R): Me, Josh, James, Leslie, Will and Tristan (in pink)
becomes kinda confusing when I receive emails because it gives their given name and then they're signed with their nickname. Anyways, I'll figure it out eventually. 😊

Once practice ended I went home and was given a small window to shower and get ready for the night's series of events. I went out for Thai food with Taylor, Leslie, and Judy (Leslie's flatemate). Judy's a really nice, quirky person who is always seeming to have fun no matter what. She's also a bit older than all of us (she's 25 and a grad student, but you'd never guess that at meeting her.) Dinner was really good. We were going to try a new place but the prices were not so much in budget so we ended up at the Durham Ox, good food, good prices and friendly people. It wasn't really cold on the way to dinner but when Leslie and I headed out to The Works it was freezing! (By the way, I'm not used to this weather so my version of freezing is very different from people who are used to it).

The Works:
So Leslie and I (Judy was going to go but backed out) headed to Raleigh Park to meet up with Tristan and his entourage--we (Tristan and I) had to kinda battle it out earlier at practice over tickets for the Works...our social secs got a bit confused. Anways, we met up with them and then waited for a while for 2 of the girls who take FOREVER to get ready and go anywhere. They finally showed up and we all hailed taxis to The Works. Once there it was really fun. Before arrival I was feeling a bit tired (I had just been running around for 3 hours and then had food....in a comfortable need to sleep mood), but inside it was awesome. It was Classic Night which meant that they played all sorts of songs from the 80s and 90s mainly. Some of their choices weren't so fantastic in some books (MMMbop is a bit old and gets really easily stuck in your head, which is irritating). Basically you could call it Cheese Night, because the music was really really cheesy but fun. If you didn't like that kind of music though you can always go into another room. For instance, we hung out in the Hip Hop room for awhile which was fun, but really really crowded. Then not too late Leslie, Tristan and I headed home, mainly because I wasn't getting a cab home by myself and I had to get up for a 9am class. In addition it kinda saved from possible awkward situations occurring.

So that was the result of another semi-productive Wednesday. Next week is the Frisbee Social that ends at the Works. I doubt that I'll be at that one though, unfortunately, because I have to leave campus at 8:15am to get downtown for a tour of Nottingham for my class on the city. Too much is going on!! And I'm lovin' it!

Advertisement



24th October 2005

awkward...hehe
"In addition it kinda saved from possible awkward situations occurring" umm ya to say the least. Thanks for that btw. Very much appretiated.

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb