Busy, busy, dizzy...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 20th 2005
Published: October 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Quote to ponder: 'I'm tired of chasing my dreams. I'm just gonna ask where they are going, and hook up with them later.'--quote from Tristan

Today is just craziness and coming off of Wednesday night 9am classes are the absolute worst. However, today's student lecture was really really good which is kinda scary but I have a long time to work on it, so that's a plus. After lecture I went to the student union to get some more paper, too much notetaking here!, and then headed to the library. I had to read a bit more about Saint's Cults before I met up with my group to discuss how we were going to give an entire lecture on the topic. It seems that I had not been reading the 'right' material and the direction to which our presentation was going to go was quite the opposite from what I was thinking, but oh well. Hopefully we can compile a wide range of areas that are not too broad but give everyone else places to look for more information. I have been given the task of introducing the topic, so off I went to the upper reaches of the library to try (in vain) to collect the books that seemed to have a greater breadth/overview of Anglo-Saxon saint's cults--they were all on hold or requested or both. So back to specific cases I went. I'm hoping that I can compile enough information from the 4 specific cases that I have found to give an introduction to the topic. I also looked up a bit of info on the web from two lecturers at the University of Leicester...I'm assuming that's pretty credible.

Now I'm taking a break from homework (ie continuing to research this whole presentation thing). Tonight I have indoor ultimate frisbee practice which is good since we have our tournament this weekend...yikes! I've never played indoor ultimate before and I'm going to be rapidly introduced to it through the co-ed regional tournament this weekend. Talk about pressure! Anyways, it should be pretty fun and hopefully laid back. At least it isn't very far away which is nice (only a 10 min drive).

Tomorrow, Friday, I'm hoping to go on a mini-excursion to see the attractions of Nottinghamshire and also get some more pants for ultimate. It's absolutely cold here now and playing outdoors with what I have just isn't cutting it. It's not a huge deal but it would be nice to be warm.

The greatest thing right now is that all the leaves are changing colors on the trees and by next week they should be all red, yellow, and orangey. Yay for autumn!! I'm really excited that they actually have seasons here, unlike So Cal where the leaves fall off and that's about it. Or better yet in Santa Cruz where no leaves fall because the trees are all redwoods and it's green all year round! I'll take some pictures and post them so you can all see how fantastic the seasons are here. I think they get snow here too which is pretty cool, although not enough to do any harm apparently because it doesn't stay on the ground long enough to build up at all. But still, they have snow!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb