TGIF


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 21st 2005
Published: October 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So it's Friday and I don't have class today. Yay! That's usually a sign that I need to go out of town. However, this weekend I will be participating in my first indoor ultimate tourney. It should be really really fun and interesting. I'm hoping to learn lots.

Being that I don't have class I had planned on exploring Nott'm a little bit, but my plans were waylaid for several reasons. Mainly because I couldn't find a travel-around-town buddy which is essential and because it started to rain pretty good and exploring outdoor things in the rain is a sure way to getting yourself horribly wet and sick. Not good...thus my exploration of Nott'm has been put temporarily on hold. Instead I tried (somewhat in vain) to finish my part of the lecture presentation that I'm to give a week from Tuesday. Seeing that I wasn't going to get anything done on Saturday and Sunday, Friday was a last ditch effort to get it all done. But of course the computer in all it's glory, plus the internet kinda got me sidetracked but that's okay. Everything gets done in the end, so not to worry. 😊

And of course I had practice from 4-6pm at Jubilee. It was a pretty good practice. We've kinda been relearning the same things, especially if you go to all the practices. But it's kinda nice to be playing both indoors and outdoors. It gives you a feel for both games and doesn't confuse the newbies as much--at least that's what we hope in the end! At the end of practice I went to catch the hopper back to university park. I just missed the first bus and had to wait about half an hour in the freezing cold, kinda rain/misty weather for the next bus. By that time there were A LOT of people waiting for the bus. There was a group of guys that were on their way to attempt Campus 14. I don't remember if I've already explained campus 14. CAMPUS 14: You must have either 2 drinks (usually pints) or 2 shots at every bar on campus (mainly the halls), excluding Broadgate Park. The route ends at The Ark. The trick is to be able to do it without the bartenders catching on (although everyone knows what you're up to so it doesn't matter too much). Traditionally after you have completed campus 14 and are totally smashed, you are to swim from one side of the lake to the other. However, since people are really stupid when they're drunk, several people have drowned and thus campus 14 has been banned. But people still go about attempting the feat....some make it and other don't.

That's about it for Friday....funtimes studying!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb