What do YOU do on a Saturday?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 15th 2005
Published: October 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Saturday: the day for chores (ie a really boring most of the day spent doing laundry, cleaning my room, and attempting to get homework done so that I don't have to do it during the week and can have some fun).

Saturday night: started out very mellow. I was highly entertained by my flatmates cooking pad thai from scratch and the conversations surrounding the method of cooking. Then I headed over to Ruth's to pick up one of my dvds and a list of American products to get for the girls to try....since they don't have them here. No luck finding the list (it has mysteriously disappeared) but I did locate the dvd. Jorge was over convincing Ruth to go out to the bar with him. Finally deciding where they were going I was invited to go with them. So we headed over to my flat so I could change my shoes and then headed to The Ark because Broadgate you had to pay for because it was the Karni 'Space' Party. On the way over we ran into a very drunk Tristan (from Venezuela) who was trying to aid a very very drunk fresher get home. Quite a combination. When we got to The Ark we didn't have to pay for entrance, which was cool and unusual--I think we were just there early enough that we didn't have to pay the 3 quid to get in. I had forgotten my ID card so Ruth signed me in as a guest and we had a mellow night hanging out. We met up with Joaquin and Jose and just had fun observing all the really drunk people that had made it there after Karni.

Ok, so I think a Karni explanation would be helpful.
Karni (or Karnival) is a community service event. Each residence hall goes to a different town or city every Saturday to raise money for charity. Last year they raised about 1mn quid, I think. Anyways, you pay 4 quid to go and raise money then they provide free alcohol on the bus ride back. So by the time everyone gets back to campus at like 8pm, everyone's smashed. The few that actually make it out again to the bars are quite entertaining because they're so drunk when they get there that it's all downhill. Karni does sound like fun, besides the whole gettingh smashed bit. 😊

The end....another Saturday gone.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb