Fire alarms are hateful!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 14th 2005
Published: October 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The day was going to start off fine, however.....fire alarms are hateful!!! The lovely screeching sound of the fire alarm went off at 7 o'clock this morning, waking everyone up and making perfect grouches of us. Some didn't have anything to do today but sleep or didn't have class until later in the day. I was planning on getting up at 8am anyways, so this 1 hour early wake-up call was incredibly unpleasant, particularly because it was a test. So I went back to bed after it and ended up shutting my alarm off and waking up randomly 40 minutes after I had planned to. Oh well. I wasn't late for class so that was good, but I could have been. I blame the fire alarms.

My seminar today on Contemporary World since 1945 was interesting, particularly because I'm the only international student in the whole class and the teacher made a deal about it. (My name comes up on the registrar as J. instead of Jacqueline which is annoying so they always ask). Anyways, it was an ok class although kinda elementary and not so in-depth.

I also turned in my module form today for the year. It's really strange to pick classes for an entire year rather than just quarter by quarter--I like picking quarter by quarter better. You're not worried about what classes you'll be taking later in the year and it's a lot easier to change, plus you can pick new ones if you can't get into certain popular courses really quickly rather than having to continuously go back and get things signed off by the administrator. Queues are everywhere.....and they're highly inefficient.

Once again I have frisbee today (indoors), so we'll see how it goes. Apparently not many people show up to this practice so we do a lot more and get more playing time which is nice. Result: we did a lot more today and actually scrimmaged longer which was cool. I got really lost getting to the sports centre though because it was at Jubilee campus. I must have walked the entire length of Jubilee which was okay, since I got there 45 min early (and a good thing too!). I finally asked someone where it was and it's really easy--I forgot that I have to cross the street outside of the "walls" of the campus. Why is England so confusing?? Oh wait! because they don't plan out towns like they do in the US. Rather they just kinda come together through continuous sub-divisioning of the land. There's something new to think about--so navigating in London is difficult and that is why (no planning!!).

Anyways, I should've gone away to either Edinburgh or London this weekend, but I'm not. That's okay though...I'll just go explore around Nott'm. Plus I have a lot of 'chores' to accomplish and to get ahead on reading and such, if that ever happens, before next weekend. Which, by the way, I will be playing in my first open (ie co-ed) indoor frisbee tournament. It should be really fun and interesting. It's all experienced players which is nice although I haven't made it yet to one of their practices on Tuesday, so we'll see how it goes next week. Hopefully it's not so bad and much more fun than I expect it to be. Till then I will be finishing copying notes off the internet....I really hate that profs expect you to print 50 pgs of info off the web. It's quite annoying, inconvenient and kills trees; but then again they seem to like killing trees over here with all the paperwork they make you fill out. Oh well....back to notetaking.


ps. I think I'm turning into Charlotte. I leave my window open for fresh air (and because my heater won't turn off!) even though it's cold. It's weird, you kinda just get used to it and don't mind. I wonder if this is a pattern that will stick or not....anyways I had to mention it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb