Topic of the day: Vietnam War


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
October 12th 2005
Published: October 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Once again I sat through another hour of US history and foreign policy in the world. Today's topic: The Vietnam War and why on earth the US was involved. It was a really good lecture and actually taught me many new things. However, it did have a rather negative view of the US--the first that I've come across that made me somewhat cringe. Yet it was really good to hear someone else's opinion much less actually covering the topic in such a survey course. It's frustrating when taking classes in US history that certain topics are skipped over because they are "too complicated" to explain, when rather they are either huge mistakes or defeats that nobody wants to re-live or even own up to. I had no understanding of the Vietnam War, in particular, but today in class I learned most of it in a nutshell; Granted from a very different and outside perspective. It may sound ironic, but this class on the contemporary world since 1945 is one of my favorite classes, mainly because it continues to give me a different angle to think from, in addition to learning more about how the US has intervened in world affairs for a very long time.

Outside of the classroom, I had outdoor frisbee practice today with a TON of people (I think there may have been about 50 people at practice today). It was fun, so much fun that I was totally wiped out by the end. Tomorrow is indoor practice which should be fun, although very crowded; to be followed by Sherwood Bar and then Ocean--sounds entertaining!

Random notes: one of the nightclubs that students frequent and that the Athletics' Union holds a student night every Wednesday at, is in the middle of appealing a decision to be stripped of their alcohol license due to underage sales. Nice...you have to love that. And on top of it, tonight is "Kinky bunny night"--basically every girl is to show up looking like a playboy bunny. Fantastic.

ps. travelblog has been weird lately so hopefully you all can view the photos that I've uploaded and if you can't I apologize.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb